Day 10: Katie’s Morning

I slipped down the stairs while the girls were brushing their teeth in the early morning light.

“Breakfast will be on the table,” I called over my shoulder as I hurried into my bedroom to get dressed. No time this morning to mull over an outfit. I grabbed a shirt and pair of pants from my closet and quickly dressed myself. I hunted through my jewelry box for a pair of earrings and hopped on one foot while I tugged at my boots. One last glance in the mirror. This will have to do I thought. I headed back towards the kitchen to pack our lunch bags. Maddie was there eating. No Katie.

I trudged back up the stairs. There was Katie, standing on her step stool at her bathroom sink. She was filling a Dixie cup with water over and over again, tipping the cup over to create a waterfall. My eyes landed on her toothbrush, still covered with a squirt of toothpaste.

“Katie! Let’s go, move it!” I said from behind her. I took the cup from her hand and handed her the toothbrush. “Come on, let’s go.”

Katie halfheartedly took the toothbrush from my hand. As she brushed, she stopped often to spout out the toothpaste like a dolphin of some kind, giggling all the while.

“Let’s go, Katie,” I said, wiping her face quickly with the towel.

We headed down the stairs and I bee lined for the kitchen. I turned to say something to Katie, but she wasn’t there. I poked my head around the corner and found her performing a couple of ballet moves for her stuffed monkey.

“Katie!”

We somehow, finally, made it into the garage. I threw my purse into the front seat and glanced around. No Katie. I caught a purple flash of color out of the corner of my eye as Katie went whizzing down the driveway on her scooter.

“Katie, we have to go!” I hollered.

Katie plopped in her seat and looked at me, smiling her Katie-smile. She certainly had a fun morning. I, on the other hand, was a frazzled wreck and was certain I was going to be late for work.

Katie is always so playful, so silly, so busy having fun. I do wish Katie would hurry in the mornings.

But mostly, I wish I could be more like her.

SOL

Thirty-one stories in thirty-one days as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge at Two Writing Teachers.

 

21 thoughts on “Day 10: Katie’s Morning

  1. I feel like you just described my mornings only I’m saying the name “Emma.” I wish I could be a stop and smell the roses girl just like my Emma! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Oh miss Katie! Children who embody a “free spirit” (Janie and Katie would be best friends) can be so much fun and make life a crazy ride all at the same time. I loved your last line. I think we all wish that and I hope for Katie that her little spirit never dims.

  3. I love the way you ended this! It’s just so true. My kids are 3 and 5 and I just have to laugh constantly at all of the reminders and distractions we experience before we walk (run!) out the door each morning. I never knew someone could get distracted between putting on a left shoe and a right one before this time in my life. You’ve captured perfectly both the frustration and the affection we feel for our kids on school mornings! I know we’ll both look back and miss the chaos and 5 million reminders we give daily sometime in the not-so-distant future.

  4. I enjoyed reading this! Not only did it remind me of my own playful dreamer I raised, but by the end I could remember being that child too where there was magic to be discovered and explored in everything I saw. It was a very poignant ending.

  5. What a fun read. I could feel the joy and the abandon and the playfulness in little Katie! I want to BE her. I want to bring more of that into my own life. I think our writing time helps us to do that – to notice it. Thanks for sharing it with the rest of us.

  6. Thank you for letting me see your morning. I felt the contrast between your hurry and Katie’s nohurry. Your last line is powerful.

  7. Dana, this is wonderful! It is a version of the story my wife tells me of her mornings. Also, it is such an illustration of how whimsical, childlike priorities rub so roughly against the adult role we must play. But the last line says it all! Thanks for sharing this!

  8. I guess you have learned to keep an eye out for her to make sure she has not been left behind. It can be frustrating, but her personality is joyful. I could learn a lesson or 2 from her.

  9. I know those mornings and I must admit I was one of those kids long ago! My daughter was one of those kids as well. Yes, frustrating but have to love the free spirit! It makes me smile!

  10. I like your ending the best. It’s possible to be feeling two things at once…rushed and aggravated, but also wistful and wishing.

    Thanks for reminding me to be open to “Katie moments”!

  11. I can relate to your frenzied feeling throughout this piece…while I may not have kids, my ocd is off the charts and I am so type A that it is not even funny! How I wish I could be more carefree and laid back like your sweet Katie!

  12. As I wake up every morning and get ready for work I often ask myself “How could I possibly fit a child into my morning routine?!” I look forward to when this day comes, but recognize the challenge (and magnificent rewards) that children bring. I love your free-spirited Katie.

  13. Sounds like she had a great morning! Your feelings in the other hand, I know those all too well!! Lol

  14. I have kids like this in my class…not a care in the world, and certainly not concerned with my time table of doing things. This is such a sweet slice that shows Katie’s happy-go-lucky personality!! 🙂

  15. I am reminded that time is fleeting and we often miss out on the small stuff. Katie is a reminder to be present for the small stuff. The Katie’s of the world who see waterfalls in paper cups and dolphins in toothbrushing are the ones who will make this world a better place. Go Katie!

Leave a comment