Day 20: A Bad Day

I almost didn’t Slice today.

I woke up on the wrong side of the bed.  The length of my To Do list only furthered spoiled my mood.  The line to get a picture with the Easter Bunny was almost as offensive as the cost.  Katie was tired which meant Katie was whiny which meant my husband was irritable which meant so was I.  The piles of laundry were never ending and the grocery store was crowded.

So, I almost didn’t Slice today.

But then… right before bedtime Katie came over to where I was sitting.  “I want to sit by you,” she proclaimed.  I scooted over and made room for her and the blanket she was carrying.  She squeezed in next to me and lay her head on my arm.  “Are you cold, Mommy?” she asked as she tossed half the blanket over my legs.  She looked up at me and smiled.

Suddenly, my stupid To Do list and the line for the Easter Bunny and the laundry and all of Katie’s whining didn’t matter.

And I decided to Slice after all.

SOL

I’m writing a Slice of Life Story every day for the month of March as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge. See more at Two Writing Teachers.

 

16 thoughts on “Day 20: A Bad Day

  1. Our children can be such blessings. I am glad you sliced and brought an “aw” from me and caused me to smile. I want to go hug my daughter now.

  2. I’m glad that that little moment turned your bad day around.. and BTW I was wondering where your slice was.. 🙂 So glad you did decide to do it!

  3. Oh good because I love reading what you share. Isn’t it something the power kids have! They can turn a black cloud into a beautiful rainbow!

  4. The little things always seem to be the things we remember most with our children – a lovely read! Thanks for sharing!

  5. That was a great Slice, and the slice of life writing experiment is a really good idea, much better suited to parents and/or people with full time jobs than NaNoWriMo. My solution to a bad day is usually to go for an impromptu road trip, even if it is just a short one.

Leave a comment