We’re Back

See More Slice of Life Writing over at Two Writing Teachers

See More Slice of Life Writing over at Two Writing Teacher

And we’re back.  Back to work, back to daycare, back to life.

The alarm clock buzzed this morning and it was like we never had a Spring Break at all.  Out of bed, shower, coffee, wake up girls… back to our routine.  Except we are a little rusty.

Maddie didn’t want to wear short sleeves because she was cold so I gave her a different shirt but she didn’t want a different shirt, she wanted the Ariel shirt but she didn’t want to be cold with short sleeves so we finally settled on the Ariel shirt over a long sleeve shirt.

Katie didn’t want Mommy to come in her room and wake her up, she wanted Daddy but Daddy is at work so she had to settle for Mommy.

Katie didn’t want me to pick out a bow for her hair, she wanted to do it herself.

Maddie wanted to share her milk with Katie but she forgot that Katie doesn’t always remember how to drink out of a regular cup so instead of drinking it, Katie spilled it all over her shirt and Maddie cried because she was only trying to be nice and share.

I tried not to look at the crumbs all over the floor from Maddie’s breakfast because I knew we were dangerously close to being late and we had to hurry but my eyes wouldn’t stop staring and I had to quickly grab the broom and sweep the floor.

Katie didn’t want me to help her put on her shoes, she wanted to do it herself.

Katie didn’t want to wear the white jacket, she wanted to wear the pink polka dot jacket even though it was too cold for that jacket so she took the white jacket off (twice) and threw it on the ground (twice) and I finally had to speak sternly and insist on the white jacket and they both cried because I “yelled”.

We finally got in the car to leave but Katie started crying because Maddie brought a teddy bear so Katie wanted her monkey and now we were late but I knew I couldn’t listen to “me mon-keeeeeee, Katie mon-keeeeeeeee” wails the whole time so I had to run back in the house and up the stairs and back down and out to the car with the monkey.

I forgot my travel coffee mug at home and there was no way I had time for a stop at Dunkin’ Donuts.  Coffee-less.  Ugh.

The teachers at daycare were so happy to see Maddie and Katie after a week off so there was a lot of hugging and small talk and smiles and I was trying not to tap my foot and look at my watch.

Yep, we’re back.  A little rusty and a little late, but we’re back.

12 thoughts on “We’re Back

  1. I like how you referred to it as being “rusty.” That totally was me this morning too. I was really ready to go, but things didn’t go according to plan.

  2. You will all be back into the swing of things in no time. My favorite part was “I was trying not to tap my foot and look at my watch.” I felt every second of you hurrying as tried not to be late.

  3. Yes — I agree with the breathlessness in this slice. You beautifully captured the un-beautiful things that happen in the mornings with littles. It just is what it is…and I would’ve grabbed the broom too. I’m sorry the parade of events didn’t allow for a Dunkin’ Donuts stop; that would’ve brightened the commute a little bit. Hope your first day back is going more smoothly than your morning! 🙂 b

  4. We are back….and I love that your children are received with such love!! What a wonderful feeling….even if getting back into the swing of things is a little rusty……and the coffee…:-( I did love this slice though….because we are all in this together. XOXO

  5. You….yelled? Obviously the girls aren’t used to that because they cried. And I love how your neatness won out and you had to get that broom out.

    Thank you for not letting me off easy when I tried excuse after excuse NOT to write EVERY DAY! I would give some major reason why this wouldn’t work, and you wouldn’t say a word (well, maybe after the twentieth time, anyway).

  6. rusty is right- I felt rusty all day. This was a great slice- thank you again for dragging all of us along into this challenge. I’d dare say we are all converts. 😉

  7. “Yep, we’re back. A little rusty and a little late, but we’re back.” So true! Still felt like spring break started today and ditched us last week. Great final slice this month. Thanks for the push into this and the support since the beginning. It’s been an eye opening experience. We are so lucky to have you in our district, Dana. You are so forward thinking and you follow through with helping everyone through finding their best teaching niche. Thank you 🙂

  8. “The alarm clock buzzed this morning and it was like we never had a Spring Break at all.” This says it all and why does it always feel like that? I only have to get myself ready in the morning and couldn’t seem to get myself together.

  9. I only have one kid and I felt like this today as well. I loved the tone of this-I could feel the pressure building, and I am still wondering how it went today without the coffee?!?! I know how needed it is!

    On a side note, this was such a wonderful month of new writing experiences for me and I cannot thank you enough for all the encouragement! See you Tuesdays!!!!

  10. Dana, this is how many of my mornings have gone in the past, even though we weren’t “rusty”! However, this morning was as smooth as ever. I prepped and talked about it last night and I couldn’t believe how well it played out. Now, tomorrow morning is another day … this may be my slice tomorrow! 🙂

Leave a comment