Here Comes the Bride

Hosted by Two Writing Teachers

Hosted by Two Writing Teachers

My nerves were bordering on explosive during the weeks leading up to our wedding, but when the big moment finally came, I was surprisingly calm.  Standing in the back of the church with my mom, I savored the moment.  The music began, and arm in arm, she and I began our walk.  We both smiled and cried simultaneously, a curious mix of emotions.

Later, my mom would write me a beautiful letter, thanking me for allowing her the honor of that walk.  She would say how she felt validated.  Nonsense.  I am the grateful one.

I glanced at our guests, but my eyes were mainly glued to my husband-to-be.  He stood, incredibly handsome, and smiled the sweetest smile.  We’d had a long road, and I remember thinking, “Of course.  Of course, it was him.  All this time, and it’s always been him.”  I couldn’t take my eyes off him.

When I finally arrived at his side, the priest softly whispered to me, “Now that’s a big moment, isn’t it?”

Yes, indeed, it was.

11 thoughts on “Here Comes the Bride

  1. The part about the letter your mom would later write you, struck cords with me. I love you took a “time out” in your small moment to add that in to the piece. Such craft 🙂

  2. Oh what a beautiful slice! A small moment with a huge impact…that moment will be with you forever…what a beautiful memory!

  3. so sweet how you and your mom savored those moments together in the back of the church. The part of this piece that made me sigh out loud was when you were talking about the letter your mom wrote to you. The last line…”I am the grateful one”. So beautiful.

    Carrie

    Murphy’s Law wrote:

    dmurphy2013 posted: ” My nerves were bordering on explosive during the weeks leading up to our wedding, but when the big moment finally came, I was surprisingly calm. Standing in the back of the church with my mom, I savored the moment. The music began, and arm in arm, s”

  4. Dana, I love this one too. Your posts just keep getting better. I had goosebumps reading this. You and your mom, your incredibly handsome Jerome, your long journey, your walk down the aisle… I love it. You made me think of how I was so calm leading up to the wedding and then there wasn’t enough champagne and orange juice in the world to calm my nerves the morning of my wedding.

  5. Dana,
    I honestly could picture this as I was reading it. You wrote this so lovely and I got chills when you were talking about how it was him all along!! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

