The Other Sister

Hosted by Two Writing Teachers

Hosted by Two Writing Teachers

When I was little, my friends would say, “Which sister?  Denise or the other one?”  You see, ‘the other one’ is 9 years older than me, so she didn’t really have too much to do with me and my friends.  Actually, I don’t have a lot of childhood memories of her.  She got married and moved out when I was 9 or 10 years old.  To be honest, all I really remember of her from my childhood is her yelling at me when my mom would leave her to babysit.  (and probably deservedly so, in retrospect.)

But now?  Well, quite simply: She’s my greatest and truest friend.

I can (and do) tell her everything.  Everything.  I tell her things that I sometimes don’t even want to admit to myself.  The good, the bad, the ugly.  And there has been some ugly.

And we laugh together.  A lot.  We LOL and laugh-till-we-cry and belly-laugh and snort-laugh and cover-our-mouths-i-can’t-believe-you-said-that laugh.

Oh, we’ve cried together, too.  Through all of life’s saddest moments, she was holding my hand.  She held my hand when she told me our beloved Aunt Carole passed away.  We met each other in the parking lot of the funeral home and walked hand-in-hand into both of our aunt’s wakes.  We stood holding hands in the lobby of the doctor’s office when our middle sister was diagnosed with skin cancer.

Do you have someone in your life that seems to be always in your corner?  That’s her.  She’s just always right there in my corner.  She texts me in the morning to tell me if the weather is going to be bad.  She asks me if Katie still has a runny nose because I mentioned three days ago that she had the baby sniffles..  She listens and empathizes when I say my husband is a jerk and she knows I don’t really mean it.  She shows up at everything, and she usually shows up with coffee.

She doesn’t know this, but I learned how to be a good mom from watching her raise her kids.  And I learned how to be a good daughter by watching how she treats our mom.  She showed me what it means to be a good friend by being one to me.  Honestly, she’s made me a better person just by having known her.

That’s my other sister.

11 thoughts on “The Other Sister

  1. I loved the ending… we always keep those life lessons that others teach us to ourselves. Why? I hope that you share this with her, it’s so sweet and it brought tears to my eyes.

  2. The title of this piece makes one think that maybe you didnt have the best relationship with this sister. However, the piece itself its so beautifully written about the love you two share… how lucky you are to have someone that you can tell everything too and know they will still love you!

  3. oh boy. My kids are testing. I sat down, read this, and it made me CRY. Thanks a lot! I had to get up and walk it off! It hit a nerve becuase I also have two sisters- both older.. but also the paragraph about all the ways she is, “in your corner,” .. You are blessed. Beautifully written and so touching.

  4. Hi all! This is Darlene, the “other sister.” 🙂 I almost cannot type this reply through my tears. I cannot tell you how much I love my sister Dana, my friend. I am honored to be her “other sister” and consider myself more then lucky to have her in my life. I am humbled by her words and truthfully, a little surprised to know that I have had such an impact on who she is.
    I hope she knew even before reading this, that all the laughing, hand holding and coffee drinking has meant the world to me too!!!!
    I hope all of you reading this have the good fortune of knowing my sister Dana!

  5. That’s it. This one is my favorite. Blows the rest out of the water! I had goosebumps when I read this. I have two sisters and I can just relate to some of these lines. All the laughing and the crying and supporting… it is just exactly what it is like with a sister. I absolutely LOVE this one. If it were up to me, I would say you win the challenge. Put your computer away. You are done. This is awesome, heartfelt, real writing. This is why you are my coach. 🙂

  6. I have been following you and love your posts! I have a friend who is like this…and, ironically, my brother who is 6 years younger is like this to me! Thanks for reminding me how awesome family (blood or not) is!

Leave a Reply

