Homework Her Way

Katie had her first homework assignment last night. Her preschool teacher sent home a practice sheet in Katie’s backpack. They are learning to write the letter A. When I took the sheet out of the backpack, Katie was very pleased.

“I have homework,” she announced. “Like Maddie.”

She smiled proudly, and I could tell she felt like a very big girl. I settled her in at the kitchen table and gave her a sharpened pencil. She wrote her name at the top of the paper, and I snapped a quick photo to commemorate the milestone.

first-homework

Katie got to work tracing the letter A and then writing some As herself. I noticed she wasn’t forming the letters the right way, so I bent down to help.

“Nooooooooooo, Mommmmmmy! I can do it! I don’t need help! I’m doing it my way! Stoooooop Mommy!”

“But, Katie, I’m – ”

“I CAN DO IT!” she screeched.

I set down the pencil and walked slowly over to the stove as Katie glared at me. I stirred the rice silently and let her finish her work… her way.

SOL

This is my Slice of Life Story. Share yours at Two Writing Teachers every Tuesday.

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Homework Her Way

  1. Wow! You’ve got a really feisty little gal there. Some of us take directions well, but some of us need to find our own way. I guess it’s time for Mom to take a back seat for a while, until she’s ready for your help. What a wonderful slice to remind us of how fragile those first days and years can be.

  2. You’ve documented a special moment you can bring out when she s older and complaining about having too much homework. I enjoyed reading about her innocence and excitement about the work.

  3. Love her determined little face in he photo!

    Btw: I just got yelled at for helping with a practice sheet. I refused to stop helping until Isabelle used a calm voice and appropriate words. Does that make me a mean mommy?

  4. Your post hit home. While visiting my adult son today, I watched as he sprayed carpet cleaner o his rug and then proceeded to rub it in with some kind of brush. “Matt, you need to blot that not rub it in”, I promptly coached. He was not happy with me. Apparently, the directions said otherwise. Yes, even when your “kids” are in their forties, it’s sometimes hard to let them do things their way!

  5. Awww! It’s probably good she wants to do it herself, right? 🙂

    I can’t imagine my baby doing homework, but I know those days will be here before I know it — thanks for the peek ahead!

  6. Pre-school homework – isn’t that an oxymoron or something??? I wish I could tell you that your little “discussions” are just beginning. Homework arguments are the worst and could so easily be eliminated altogether!

  7. My daughter’s favorite mantra were the words were “I do it myself.” It’s great to see their independence even if we’re not always ready to celebrate it.

  8. I can just imagine how grown up she feels to be doing homework like her big sister. What a pity homework is a criteria about which children mark growing up.

Leave a comment