Day 24: She Knows

Maddie and Katie play with toys – sometimes.  Mostly though, they play make believe.  They play family and school and swim lessons and art gallery and daycare and furniture store and library and restaurant.  They invent scenarios and role play.  They mimic what they observe in the world.  It’s a joy to watch.

The neighbors were over for a playdate and all four girls decided to play family.  There was a mommy and a big sister and a little sister and a grandma.  Maddie was the mommy, but I noticed she wasn’t playing.

“Whatcha doing, Mads?” I asked.

“Making something,” she answered without looking up, her head bent over the table littered with paper and crayons.  I shrugged and left her alone.

A short while later Maddie walked into the kitchen holding her creation.  “It’s a computer,” she announced proudly.  “I’m the mommy so I need to work on my computer.”

At first I felt sad that Maddie would role play a mommy by working.  But, alas, it is true –   sometimes mommies work on the computer.  Mommies also play and do puzzles and read books and hug and tickle and listen and talk and laugh.

And Maddie knows this.  Of course she knows.

IMG_2063

Maddie’s computer

SOL

I’m writing a Slice of Life Story every day for the month of March as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge. See more at Two Writing Teachers.

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Day 24: She Knows

  1. So cute! My niece who is almost 30 now used to love to play school. In fact, one Christmas she asked me to buy her an overhead projector!

  2. Kids are the most amazing creatures ever. I am surprised at how much information they can hold at such a young age. I love their creativity and imaginations. Without a doubt, Maddie knows what a great hardworking mommy she has.

  3. That is an excellent computer!!!!
    Of course she knows all the wonderful things you do with, and for, her! How wonderful that they enjoy using their imaginations. Even that is a testimony to the many things they have learned from you.

  4. I’m glad you know she knows. She also knows that moms are not JUST moms but people too, people who work and have interests and are human. I love the blend of both 🙂

  5. Super slice and totally relate-able! And you are right she knows that Mommy works but she also knows the other stuff too.. cuz you’re a great mom! and writer too by the way 🙂

  6. This reminds me of my childhood; my best friend and I used to play orphanage (don’t ask), Sunday School, pet shop, and house. I love the imagination of your girls, so cute! Maybe one day they can read all of the amazing Slice’s you have written about them on your computer!

  7. Of course she knows! She wants to be just like her mommy. Hopefully her mommy can put away that computer for a week and just enjoy the time she has with her little ones! Have a great break!

Leave a comment