More than Swimming

We started swim class about two months ago.

On the first day, Maddie wouldn’t get in the water.  The class consisted of Maddie and two boys, and the boys had clearly been through this before.  Those boys laughed and dumped water on their heads and tried putting their faces in the water.  Maddie cried.  She sat on my lap, terrified, as we watched from the sidelines.  Eventually, some kind instructor was able to coax Maddie into the water.  She sat on the steps near the edge of the pool, and I saw her shake her head ‘no’ each time they encouraged her to dip her face in.  “She’ll never be confident like those boys,” I thought to myself.

On the third day, Maddie got right in the water, even though I could tell she was nervous.  She smiled and dumped water on her head and even tried putting her face in the water.  She practiced her arm movements and her kicks.  She floated on her back with some assistance from the teacher and a pool noodle.  She didn’t cry when her face got wet.

On the fourth day, well, this happened:

On the seventh day, Maddie had earned all three skill patches for Level One swimmers, and she was moved up to Level Two. The instructors removed her flotation device and encouraged her to swim, unassisted, to the ladder.  I nervously watched from the observation deck, my heart beating and my mouth dry as cotton.  With the confidence of an Olympic swimmer, Maddie put her face in that water and swam.  All. By. Herself.  And those boys?  Oh, they’re still in the Level One class dumping water on their heads and learning to put their faces in the water.

Swim class is over until the fall.  I know Maddie will use her newly acquired swim skills as we make memories at our lake house this summer.  More importantly, I know Maddie found something she has been looking for a long time: the courage to do something new even when you’re scared.

Maddie,my love, you are the bravest kid I know.

Join the Slice of Life Story link-up at the Two Writing Teachers.

Join the Slice of Life Story link-up at the Two Writing Teachers.

23 thoughts on “More than Swimming

  1. I had the same experience watching my own kids learn to swim. It feels miraculous. Thank you for sharing her bravery and your thinking throughout.

  2. As a mom of three competitive swimmers, (2 boys and 1 girl) this one hit home! They all went through this fear sitting on the sidelines and eventually taking the plunge.

    I love seeing the smile on Maddie’s face at the end and hearing the joy in your words. The moment she decided to take it on is exciting and instructive. She goes when she’s ready. Here’s to many more of these moments for you and Maddie!

  3. Swimming did the exact same thing for me as a young girl. I know what Maddie is experiencing and it’s the best and the scariest feeling in the world!

  4. Look at that little Maddie Fish! She must be SO proud of herself. Yea for moving on to level 2. (I find it awesome that you included about the splashing boys staying put. That brought a smile to my face.)

  5. I read these lines:
    All. By. Herself. And those boys? Oh, they’re still in the Level One class dumping water on their heads and learning to put their faces in the water.

    Laughed so hard that my 15 year old son called downstairs “What’s so funny?” Thanks I needed that!!!
    Clare

  6. Oh, I just loved this! I could feel your worry, nerves, and pride. We moms really do have our hearts living right outside our bodies!!!! Congrats to Maddie!

  7. My granddaughters have been through this, now are so confident they get in trouble trying to do things without waiting their turn. Sounds as if Maddie was brave and had a good instructor. It’s hard to watch your child do hard things, isn’t it? I loved seeing the video, Dana!

  8. What a great story. Sort of the Tortoise and the Hare…SLOW and STEADY wins the race as they say…in swimming and in life!

  9. She is one awesome girl! Love the fact that those boys are still horsing around and she has surpassed them, girl powerful!

  10. This is awesome! As a child, I used to swim all year long, 4-5 times a week. I’m so glad Maddie will get the chance to experience the awesomeness and the excitment of being a swimmer!

  11. Maddie has learned many skills in this…and will be able to use them for a lifetime. So glad she took her time to be comfortable with the water.

Leave a comment