Living Slow

Last summer, I made the decision to disconnect.  I logged off Facebook and Instagram for the summer and I did not check my email for ten long weeks.  I read only the books I felt like reading and wrote only the things I felt like writing.  The result was one of the happiest summers of my lifetime.

This year, I plan to do the same thing.  I am attending a conference in Indiana and going on a writing retreat in June.  Other than that, my days will be filled with hopscotch and hide-and-seek, Popsicles and pools.  I plan on putting down my phone and putting up my feet.  I like to call it living slow.  No more rush, rush, rush.  No more hurry-up-we’re-gonna-be-late.  Just me and my family and friends, soaking up the slow days of summer.  I see long mornings spent circling the lake on our boat, long afternoons spent building sand castles on the beach, and long evenings spent with a deck of Uno cards.  My favorite thing to do will be nothing.  I will sit and watch – really watch – Maddie and Katie as they discover what it means to be livin’ on lake time – fireflies and fishing poles, beaches and bonfires.

To that end, this will be my last Slice of Life entry until August.  I am taking a blogging break like I did last summer.  I will be back in August with a summertime full of tales to tell and a new job (eek!).

Have a wonderful summer, Slicers.  I hope you, too, can find the time to live slow this summer.

Join the Slice of Life Story link-up at the Two Writing Teachers.

Join the Slice of Life Story link-up at the Two Writing Teachers.

19 thoughts on “Living Slow

  1. I truly love my Instagramming etc., so I wouldn’t enjoy putting that down, but I am intrigued by the idea of living slow. I think I need more of that. I am going to work out a way to say no and not go go go so very much. I hope you have an even better summer than last year!

  2. We’re on the same page…enjoy your time to reconnect and find time for you and your family. Enjoy your quiet times. I will miss Allwrite this year – I’ll follow on twitter.

  3. I love this idea … I wonder if I should … I don’t know. I feel that in the summer I have more time to connect online. Maybe I do a short term hiatus? I missed your voice, but your thinking is right: You’ll never get these moments back again. Enjoy! Enjoy! Enjoy! And what’s this??? A new job! Can’t wait to hear about it — er, next fall …

  4. Wow! Summer with small children at a new lake house and a wonderful slow approach to it all. May you luxuriate in summer and emerge with precious memories and a renewed energy for your new job. Can’t wait to hear about it all this fall.

  5. You had us at Living Slow — now we want to move in! Can we come too???!! We take 4 weeks off, but 10 sounds amazing. Enjoy –having young ones goes so quickly!
    Clare and Tammy

  6. Good for you Dana! Enjoy the summer with your kids at the lake, make memories, and relax. That’s doing what really counts. You are all set for a wonderful summer – “see” you in August.

  7. I remember when you did that last year. It inspired me. I am in day 3 of winter and mid year reports but I really want to be in summer on that lake with no devices. Enjoy every sunny second. 🙂

  8. Wow! I can imagine staying away from Facebook and Instagram, and my school email for the entire summer but not my personal email. Sounds like you have a great summer ahead of you!

  9. I’m hoping that Indiana conference is All Write! I’ll be back this year. Have a wonderful, relaxing, memory-building, slow summer. I love this sentence – “My favorite thing to do will be nothing.”

  10. I love that you’re planning to unplug again this summer. If last summer’s unplugging led to lots of happiness, then why not do it again!??! (Will we get to see another great video of your daily summer days? No pressure to create it… it’s just that it was like a great promo for unplugging that the CCFC would probably love.)

Leave a Reply

