Opening Doors

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge.  Join at Two Writing Teachers.

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge. Join at Two Writing Teachers.

Our new house has a sunroom just off the kitchen.  This room was, to me, an added bonus but not one of the reasons I fell in love with the house.  Until we moved in.

The sunroom quickly became my favorite place to be.  The walls are lined with windows and offer the most beautiful views of our landscaped yard.  We purchased a small couch, some chairs, and a beautiful sewing-table-turned-writing-desk, and now the room beckons us to come have a sit.  Maddie and Katie play happily in the sunroom while I work in the kitchen preparing our meals.  Jerome and I read the Sunday morning paper, letting the sun warm us up for the day ahead.   I have yet to sit at my writing desk, but I know when I do the words will come. The room, the views, the windows, the sun… to be in there is just good for your soul.  It really is a beautiful room.

Unfortunately, this beautiful room has no insulation in the walls which made for a very cold winter.  So cold, in fact, it has been unofficially closed since December.  We shut the patio door leading from the kitchen to the sunroom, and we have only opened it when necessary: to retrieve a forgotten toy or a lost book.  Our beautiful sunroom has been literally freezing for months.

Yesterday, the temperatures in Chicago rose to a balmy 40 degrees.  Jackets came off, mittens lay discarded on laundry room floors, and sunroom doors were opened.  Instantly, I fell back in love.  All is well with my soul, I thought, as I watched Katie play contentedly on the floor.  All is well.

IMG_1139 IMG_1141

 

20 thoughts on “Opening Doors

  1. Sounds like a great room… and you are getting close to being able to use it full time for months — I can tell you are looking forward to that!

  2. Lovely room. Glad it is warm enough to use once again. Our goal is to one day enclose our back patio and make a room our of it. It is already enclosed by two walls…house and garage. Some day/

  3. I’m nothing less than completely envious of your beautiful room! It looks like an amazing place to curl up with a good book! I’m sure you will appreciate it each and every day as spring arrives!

  4. No wonder you love this sunroom. I would love to have such a space. I can see why your children enjoy playing here…and that you bask in the sun reading the paper. So glad the weather is warming enough that soon you will be living in this beautiful sunroom.

  5. A great room – that is how I feel about our back deck. It become another room in our house once the warm weather hits. I even sat out there a bit this afternoon while reading the new Horn Book that showed up today.

  6. Such a neat space to enjoy! I live in the midwest too…and it so nice to begin eating away at the events which mark the end of a long, cold winter. Opening up the sunroom door is to be celebrated. As are mittens on the floor. 🙂

  7. Such a warm environment even though the temperature can be cold. I had a beautiful picture in my head and there it was!!!

  8. What is it about a room, a physical place that can make us feel so good? Well, you described it as such that it wasn’t a room at all – it was a place in your heart. Family, writing, reading, comfort. All those good things came through loud and clear.

  9. Oh my! It is indeed a lovely sunroom. I enjoyed reading about this bright and warm place that your family enjoys in warmer months. Glad you could enjoy it again today!

  10. What a beautiful space! It’s amazing how much we miss the things that winter “takes away from us” during these cold, gray months. I’m glad it is starting to warm up for you!

Leave a comment