I Won’t Be Your Sister Anymore

When Maddie (age 4) gets frustrated with her sister Katie (age 2), she often tells her, “Fine, then I won’t be your sister anymore.”

Katie, give me the monkey or I won’t be your sister anymore.

Katie, it’s my turn to pick the TV show or I won’t be your sister anymore.

Katie, I get the blue cup or I won’t be your sister anymore.

Katie, you have to share or I won’t be your sister anymore.

“Maddie,” I finally said the other day, “please stop saying that to Katie.  I know you get frustrated and angry with her sometimes, but she will always be your sister.  Even when you’re mad and even when she won’t share.  She is always your sister, forever and ever.”

It’s so true, isn’t it?  We are always sisters.  I have two older sisters myself, and they are a constant in my life.  Even when we are arguing over who is hosting Christmas or rolling our eyes behind each other’s backs or secretly competing with one another… we are always sisters, forever and ever.  I suppose this is the same reason I can still see the sadness in my mom’s eyes, even though her sisters passed away years ago.  We are always sisters.

So, I was surprised last night when Maddie started with her familiar refrain on the car ride home after a long day of daycare and ballet practice.  “KATIE!  STOP!  It’s my turn to hold the dolly!  MINE!  Fine, I won’t be your sister anymore!!”

I took a deep breath, ready to remind Maddie that Katie is always her sister.  Katie beat me to it, though.

“I am sister!” Katie yelled.  “I sister!  You not!”

Someday they will understand and appreciate the simple truth:  You will always be a sister.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays!  Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays! Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “I Won’t Be Your Sister Anymore

  1. Perfect! The way siblings communicate! I love the repetition in this piece. I also love that Katie has picked up and is “fighting back”! Great piece!

  2. Now my granddaughters are five & three, & the three year old is beginning to hold her own, as you just noticed. They are close, until some things are just too special to share. Fun to hear about your daughters, Dana. I have a wonderful brother, but have never had a sister. It would be a great thing, I know.

  3. Ahhh! I have six sisters and as one of the younger ones I watched the older ones engage in horrific fights for years. Now firmly middle aged,we are all close even though we see one another infrequently. We’re so glad to have one another. Always sisters. Always.

  4. Yep, and it’s true for brothers & sisters, too. Maddie’s response reminds me of my daughter’s cry when she used to get mad at me. She’d say, “I’m not your friend anymore.” I’d agree and remind her that I was her mom instead–always.

  5. I don’t have a sister, but I am a sister. I totally understand though. No matter what, your siblings are your siblings forever. And sometimes, you won’t like them. But you’ll always love them.

  6. Oh, I have not heard that one — yet. Where do they even come up with this stuff?!? In my house I hear, “Well, I’m not going to draw you a picture today.” Or, “I make really great cards and I’m not going to make you one.” Really? Deep breath. Remember you are dealing with 4 year olds. Love that you captured this story for your girls! A fun memory to remember!

  7. Yup – I have a sister as different to me as night is to day. We do not agree on much; yet we are sisters and I would cross hot coals for her, at least now! Thanks for a great post. ONCE, we were like your girls – promise!

Leave a comment