I Scream, You Scream

There is a small ice cream shop in our new town.  It is one of those tiny, unassuming brick buildings with a large ice cream sign posted near the main street.  Customers don’t enter the building, they simply walk up to the window and order from outside.  The teenagers who work there write the order on a pad of paper, and then they add up the total by hand.  Yep, they use real, old-fashioned arithmetic!  There are a few picnic tables outside to sit and enjoy your soft serve ice cream.  The line for ice cream on a hot summer day extends down the road.

Our new house is only a few blocks from this charming place, and my sister’s house is a five-minute drive by car.

So, the other evening when my niece sent me a text inviting us to join her and her boyfriend for some ice cream, I immediately said yes.  My mom happened to be spending the night at my house that evening, so she came along, too.

We walked up to the window and ordered.  Of course, Maddie and Katie wanted ice cream with sprinkles.  It was a beautiful evening, although it was starting to get a little chilly as the sun set.  There we sat at one of the picnic tables – me, my husband, Maddie, Katie, my mom, my niece, her boyfriend, and my nephew.  It felt like there were ten conversations going on at our table all at once as we chatted and laughed.  There were some spills (of course).

Finally, after a rocky start to our new beginning in this town, I feel as though I am home.  Surrounded by family and laughter and ice cream…with summer so close I can almost reach it.

IMG_1389

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays!  Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays! Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

12 thoughts on “I Scream, You Scream

  1. So glad to hear some people are still using pencil and paper in shops, in fact at all. I am an advocate for the pencil and paper way but I would need the calculator for the adding up part. Also glad to read you are enjoying your new town and have a great new meeting spot where everyone is happy. 🙂

  2. Oh this takes me back. Reminds me of family vacations and more recently, our own little ice cream shop within walking distance where we sit in “our spot” every time. What a great welcome to your neighborhood. It’s due. Enjoy!

  3. Oh, I love how you concluded this post! Isn’t it funny how loved ones and a special place or two can make almost anywhere feel like home? I’m glad you are starting to feel that way about your new neighborhood! 🙂

  4. I could read anything you wrote! Your writing just brings me in and holds my attention until the end. I love the description of the Ice Cream Shop so much….brings back many memories of my childhood! Excellent Slice!

  5. Summer and ice cream – it doesn’t get any better than that! I am so impressed that they add up the total by hand! So many kids can’t back change and it drives me crazy – especially since I teach math! So glad you are starting to settle in and are enjoying your new home. Certainly a rocky start for you!

  6. A dear friend of mine always says, “It’s impossible to frown and eat ice cream” and that seems like a big life truth to me. Glad you are finally getting settled! Being so close to family sounds wonderful!

Leave a Reply

