Me When I’m Walking My Dog

I wish I could be the person I am when I’m walking my dog.

The me when I am walking my dog is unhurried. I don’t look at my watch. I stop to let the dog sniff and I don’t tap my foot with impatience. I wave to the neighbors and would gladly stop for a chat if they had a few minutes to spare.

The me when I am walking my dog is still. I somehow find my way back to myself and reach those places where I know what is real and true. I walk and I think and I walk and I think, and I can always find the next right thing when I’m troubled. I trust myself when I am walking my dog.

The me when I am walking my dog is honest. I tell myself – or the dog – or God – the truth. I let my truth be and it doesn’t matter what the dog thinks because the truth isn’t dependent on the receiver. The truth is mine and you don’t have to believe it for it to be. (The dog believes me anyway.)

I wish I could be the person I am when I’m walking my dog.

One thought on “Me When I’m Walking My Dog

Leave a comment