Day 31: It’s Like Riding a Bike

Last summer Maddie learned to ride her bike without training wheels. It was tough for her, and she struggled with fear and doubt. She did it though, and we celebrated with kisses and cheers.

The long winter months have left Maddie’s bicycle sitting unused in the garage, so at the first hint of spring I said, “Maddie, let’s go outside. You can ride your bike!”

Maddie was reluctant. She pedaled slowly and swerved down the sidewalk, stopping every few feet to get her bearings. She was unsteady and unsure. I followed close behind spurring her on with encouraging words.

We made it around the block and we were approaching our house when we saw a neighbor who had stepped outside to enjoy a bit of the sunshine herself. I stopped to chat and Maddie waited nearby, perched on her bike seat, her toes keeping her balanced on the sidewalk. I could see Maddie out of the corner of my eye slowly inching herself closer to home.

I guess she became impatient because when I said good-bye to the neighbor, Maddie was gone.

My eyes searched the horizon. There was Maddie, soaring down the sidewalk on her bike, her hair and her confidence swirling around her.

“Maddie!” I called as I ran to catch up. “You did it!” We celebrated, again, with kisses and cheers.

“I did it, Mommy! I did it!”

Of course you did, Maddie. Of course you did.

SOL

Thirty-one stories in thirty-one days as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge at Two Writing Teachers.

 

11 thoughts on “Day 31: It’s Like Riding a Bike

  1. Your slice captures that feeling of the unsteady before the accomplishment and then the celebratory feeling of doing it. And a perfect slice to post on the 31st of March, a slice with an “I did it” theme!

  2. So wonderful! Of all the milestones in my three children’s ten, eight, and six years, riding a bicycle seems to be the biggest. It’s both physical and mental. When they learned how–all in the same week (I considered retiring as a mom after that accomplishment)–they were SO PROUD of themselves. And they never needed to relearn again!

  3. “Of course you did Maddie. Of course you did.” That was my favorite part! Your confidence and love shining through! Also, congratulations for writing for 31 days straight and thank you so much for encouraging me to do the same! You are AWESOME and INSPIRING!

Leave a Reply

