Day 28: Because My Mom Said So

My family has a history of skin cancer, so we are too well aware of the dangers. We look for moles, inspect all new freckles, and we always, always wear sun screen. But at a recent family gathering my mom noticed a little something on my face.

“Dana,” my mom said in her you-should-know-better voice, “you should get that looked at.”

“Mom, it’s fine,” I replied. It had been there for years. I was sure it was nothing. She stared at me like only a mother can. I rolled my eyes and changed the subject.

So this morning when the nurse asked, “What brings you here today, Dana?,” I answered as truthfully as I could.

“My mom told me to come.”

img_5309

I got a clean bill of health from the doctor. 🙂

SOL

Thirty-one stories in thirty-one days as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge at Two Writing Teachers.

13 thoughts on “Day 28: Because My Mom Said So

  1. Sometimes we need someone else to point things like this out to us – and who better than our mom’s?? Superb ending, Dana! As honest as one could possibly be!!!! Glad everything is ok!

  2. Glad it was OK…but those of us with too many freckles and too much sun in our lives have to heed that advice….I probably should head to a dermatologist myself….sigh….heeding your momma’s advice…

  3. I do feel like mom usually knows best. Except when she doesn’t. Except when I’m the mom and I know that I have no idea what I’m doing. I love your answer to the nurse’s question and very glad that it all worked out well in the end.

  4. My mom and your mom would be fast friends. 🙂 I’m glad it worked out well. It is impossible not to listen to our moms, right? They don’t stop so might as well do what they say. It’s funny though, everyone always seems to understand when you say, “My mom told me to.”

Leave a Reply

