Day 27: Just Sitting

I was sitting in church yesterday morning, listening to the priest.

Sort of.

Maddie and Katie were at the Children’s Liturgy, so they weren’t sitting with us. It was just my husband and I in the pew. The priest was talking to the congregation about…something, and I was just sitting. I wasn’t really listening, but I also wasn’t thinking of other things. I was just sitting.

Just sitting. Not folding laundry or typing on a laptop or writing a grocery list or listening to a child or talking to my husband or paying bills or watching a movie or cooking dinner or making lunches or packing bags or making beds or combing tangles or getting dressed.

I was just sitting. I wasn’t really listening.

It was lovely and calming and peaceful.

I hope He understands.

SOL

Thirty-one stories in thirty-one days as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge at Two Writing Teachers.

 

11 thoughts on “Day 27: Just Sitting

  1. I’m a firm believer that God sometimes gives us just what we need. I can tell these moments of silence and tranquility were fulfilling and peaceful. Sometimes we have to just sit and calm our minds and our hearts.

  2. Sounds lovely, I’m sure he understands. I hope he understands that my kids were having too much fun playing outside yesterday to go to church, even though I really wanted to go – I wanted a little bit of that peace and just sitting.

  3. 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 If He’s anything like I hope He is, then I reckon he approves 🙂
    (Also, I know the verse: “be still and know that I am God”, I don’t know any that say “sit up properly and listen carefully when the pastor/vicar/priest/name-your-flavour is talking at you”)

  4. I do believe He provided just what you must have needed at just that moment. I think He understands just fine. A mother’s work is deep and long and sometimes we just need a minute to breathe, to turn everything off, to just exist for a while. Glad you got your moment!

  5. Even in the calmness quite of the moment He knows you art there with him and He with you. What can be more beautiful? God knows what we need and He gave you exactly what you needed.

  6. Just sitting – sounds perfect and I truly believe He understands. Life gives us what we need sometimes –we just to slow down and see it. Love the honesty in your voice.

    Wishing you more moments of just sitting…
    Clare

Leave a Reply

