Day 25: Oh Yeah?

Maddie has a crush on a boy in her first grade classroom. His name is Nick, but don’t tell anyone because it’s a secret.

When Maddie first told me about her crush, I didn’t know what to say. I think she is far too young to be talking about crushes or boys, but I didn’t say so out loud. I didn’t want to discourage her from talking to me about these kinds of things, or any kinds of things for that matter. Someday – when she’s much, much older – we’ll need to be able to talk about boys. But not now. Not yet.

What I didn’t know then was that Maddie was going to keep talking about Nick. A lot. She talks about how Nick sat across from her at lunch and how Nick was in her math group and how Nick is in art club and Nick this and Nick that and Nick, Nick, Nick. I still don’t know what to say, so I just nod and smile and offer a non-committal “Oh, yeah?”

Maddie hasn’t yet noticed that I don’t have much to say.

“Mom, I had to help Nick spell a word today. He needed help and he asked me,” she tells me after school.

“Oh, yeah?” I say.

“Yep!” she replies enthusiastically.

I nod. I sorta smile but not really.

Don’t worry, though. Someday – when she’s much, much older – I’ll know exactly what to say.

Right?

Maddie and Nick

SOL

Thirty-one stories in thirty-one days as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge at Two Writing Teachers.

 

18 thoughts on “Day 25: Oh Yeah?

  1. Wise mama to keep those channels of communication open. My daughter also had a major crush in first grade–I suspect I didn’t deal with it nearly as wisely as you, but we worked our way through it. In fact, we were just laughing about it the other day. Of course it helps that she’s in college now…Love the final picture!

  2. This is too cute. And I’m with Melanie–keep “oh yeah?” in your arsenal for sure! But also–what makes Nick so cool? My 4th grade daughter’s best friend for years (before we moved, sniff!) was a boy, and we talked about why he was such a great friend: he made her laugh, especially when she was feeling down; he played all the silly games she liked to play; he made time for her; he always gave very thoughtful gifts. I think that teaching kids how to choose good friends provides the framework for them to make good choices when picking a partner for life and, yup, that can start a little younger than we think!

  3. Once again you show how wise you are. Never having had any children this is not something my wife and I had to deal with. When the time comes you will have the words that both you and Maddie need.

  4. Oh yeah!! My daughter is in first grade too, and I felt just like you share here when she announced her first crush. As time went on more boys’ names were mentioned and one day she grabbed my face and whispered in my ear, “I have a lot of boyfriends…but they don’t know it.” I think you know my response…”Oh, yeah?!”

  5. I use the “oh yeah” technique often also! It serves me well most of the time and I’m happy to hear that it’s working for you too! For now, I’m hopeful that it will last me until I know the right words to say. I mean, with age comes wisdom, right? At least, that is what they say. For today, let’s just choose to believe it!

Leave a Reply

