Day 23: Unspoken Messages

I was cooking dinner and heard the beep of a text message notification. I glanced down and saw the text was from my sister. She never texts me. I wiped my hands on the towel and swiped left to read the message.

Her: Do you remember when we used to make crepes?

I was immediately taken back to our childhood home, to our kitchen with the green stove. There’s my sister and I, laughing and whisking together the crepe ingredients in my mom’s green and white Pyrex bowl. How I adored my sister back then. We used to love making crepes and filling them with jam or peanut butter or cream cheese.

We used to love doing a lot of things together.

Me: Yes! I still have the recipe!

I miss us, she doesn’t write.

I miss us, too, I don’t write back.

But I know we both feel it in our hearts.

Thirty-one days of stories as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge, hosted by Two Writing Teachers.

11 thoughts on “Day 23: Unspoken Messages

  1. This is beautifully written and very thought provoking about what is written between the lines, and the sometimes very complicated relationships we have with the witnesses to our childhood: our siblings.

  2. This reminds me of your post about ‘they don’t know I come right back. All the unseens, unspokens, so much of the sweetness of life is in those un-moments. Lovely piece. You are a master of making a small moment a universal message.

Leave a Reply

