Day 19: Cold Tea and a Happy Kid

Maddie had a friend from school over to play. When they asked if they could all go in the backyard and play, I said yes. I have the perfect view into our backyard from my bedroom window, and my kids are well-versed on the ‘stay in the backyard only’ rule when there is no adult outside. I put the kettle of tea on to boil and grabbed my work bag. I could plop down on my bed, get some work done, enjoy some silence and tea, and watch the kids play. Perfection.

I had just set my steaming mug of cinnamon tea on the nightstand when Katie entered my room, looking glum.

“Mommy? The big girls aren’t really playing with me. Can you come out in front so I can drive around in the Barbie car?”

I really wanted to say no. I looked at the pile of work, the steaming mug of tea, the way my legs were already stretched out comfortably on the bed.

But then I looked at Katie’s little face. I, too, am the younger sister. I know how it feels to be left out.

“Sure, Katie, come on,” I said as I grabbed her hand and let my tea go cold.

SOL

Thirty-one stories in thirty-one days as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge at Two Writing Teachers.

 

22 thoughts on “Day 19: Cold Tea and a Happy Kid

  1. I could feel you relaxing into your moment before Katie arrived with her request. It isn’t always easy to pull out of that and change gears, but you did it with enthusiasm and grace. Hope you enjoyed your time with Katie and Barbie!

  2. This is how my daughter feels all of the time, especially by two older brothers. We try to remember to include her or give her other things she will find special to do.

  3. It is so hard to give up that precious “me time” no matter how short, but short is the operative word. Life is short, and you don’t get those precious kid moments back either. Good choice!
    ritadicarne.com

  4. Aw, I was the little sister too. I love that you remembered those feelings and took care of your girl instead of brushing it off. It would have been very easy to have gone the other way but your tea will still be there later. Your Katie will only be little for such a short time. Good job Mama!

Leave a Reply

