Day 14: Dad’s Way: A Case in Point

The other day I wrote a Slice of Life story about how dads do it their way. I’ve come to accept this fact and have really tried to embrace my husband’s unique style of parenting. The girls adore him, after all, and there haven’t been any major catastrophes. (Well, there was that one time the three of them came back from Home Depot and Maddie told me how funny it was when they couldn’t find Katie but then they found her way up high on the ladder.)

All was well, though, the other day when I wrote that post and left Daddy was in charge.

So I was surprised yesterday when I emptied Maddie’s backpack. I glanced through her returned homework, including her daily math practice from the other evening which had a big star on it from the teacher. I was about to flip to the next page when something caught my eye. Does that say beer? My eyes scanned the page.

“Maddie. Did you turn your homework in like this?”

“Mmmm, hmmm,” she answered, her mouth full of cookie.

I closed my eyes and shook my head while a sigh escaped my mouth.

Like I said, Dads do it their way.

Maddie's Homework

SOL

Thirty-one stories in thirty-one days as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge at Two Writing Teachers.

17 thoughts on “Day 14: Dad’s Way: A Case in Point

  1. That’s awesome! I once sent a game home for math homework (grade 5) and the next day got a note from a dad telling me how many times he had beat his son. I was tempted to write back, “You are an engineer! But congratulations on beating your 11 year old at a game of chance.”

  2. Very amusing. This reminds me of when my neighbor’s daughter was six years old. Her school had a Santa’s Secret Shop for the children to shop for gifts for their parents. The six-year old, Angie, bought her mom a glass with a stem and pasted a label on it that said “WINE.” Angie told the teacher that she wanted to make her mom a wine glass, since she drinks wine everyday. Kids, you gotta love ’em!

  3. I can’t wait until the day I get to share stories like this! I know for a fact that my husband will have a unique parenting style, it already happens with the pets. I smiled through this whole Slice. I mean, at least Maddie is aware that there are shapes everywhere!!

  4. You do need to let him help her with the homework more often. It does provide you with writing ideas as well as some memories that you may cherish (or use against him).

Leave a Reply

