Day 12: Dads Do It Their Way

One of the hardest lessons for me to learn as a mom was that dads do it their own way. My husband is a wonderful father and partner. He’ll help with anything, anytime. He does homework, empties the dishwasher, gives baths. He’s great.

He just doesn’t do it right,  my way, the same as me.

For example, when Maddie was around three years old, I came home from shopping to find her and my husband playing in the yard. I was rather surprised to see Maddie’s hair in ponytails as she came skipping down the driveway to greet me. Typically I would come home to find the girls looking a bit, ummm, disheveled when left home alone with Dad. I was even more surprised when she turned around to skip away and I spied a third ponytail in the back. I looked at my husband with a raised brow.

“The tri-pone,” he stated with a grin. “I invented it.”

I’m currently teaching a class on Tuesday nights. My husband is in charge of daycare pick-up, transportation to and from Girl Scouts, dinner, homework, and baths while I’m gone. I often have the urge to text him around 4:30 to ask Did Maddie make it to Girl Scouts? and again around 6:00 to remind him Don’t forget to check Maddie’s backpack for homework.

But I don’t. He’ll get it done, his way. And I never know what surprise will be awaiting me when I get home…

SOL

Thirty-one stories in thirty-one days as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge at Two Writing Teachers.

13 thoughts on “Day 12: Dads Do It Their Way

  1. This is true about other people in our lives, too. I have no spouse, but find myself thinking similar things about teaching colleagues. One of my Aunties, when confronted by her older sister once asked her, “When is Christmas?” Her older sister replied, “December 25th.” To which my Aunt retorted, “And I will get there the sam day as you.”

  2. Yes! You are so right. I often say that this is why children who have two parents raising them are so fortunate- because parents do things differently… and it helps our kids learn to be more flexible. And it helps us learn to let go!

  3. “The tri-pone. I invented it.” This line kind of explains your husband: flexible, on-the-spot-thinker, loves his girls, engineer, creator, provider. Did I get any of them right? What a great slice about letting go and allowing others their space to make an impact.

  4. Congrats on learning that lesson fairly early on in parenting! Took me years, until I read an article in a parenting magazine, saying that kids just learn that daddy or grandma or whoever, may do things differently that mom. Loved the tone of your piece…I could feel the love!

  5. This is such an important lesson to learn! It’s hard, and I might still rearrange the dishwasher after he loads it (because I can fit more in there my way!), but I surely appreciate a spouse who is willing to do it all. Your girls are lucky to learn from two wonderful parents who both love them and both take good care of them.

Leave a Reply

