Day 6: The Writing Lady

“Hey, Mrs. Murphy.”
“Hey, Gabe. How are you today?”
“I’m good. I’ve been thinking about a Slice of Life Story.”
“Me too, Gabe. I’d love to read yours when you’re done.”

“Mrs. Murphy?”
“Hey, Kyra. Come on in.”
“I, uh… well, I, uh… wrote this story and I’d love for you to read it.”
“Sure, I’d love to!”

“Mrs. Murphy, guess what?”
“I wrote a poem!”
“Awesome, Gia. I’d love to read it.”

It finally dawned on me. I’m The Writing Lady. That’s what the kids think when they see me in the hallway at our school. That’s my jam, I guess.

The Writing Lady.

I’ve certainly been called worse things.

SOL

Thirty-one days of stories as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge, hosted by Two Writing Teachers.

19 thoughts on “Day 6: The Writing Lady

  1. What a wonderful thing to be known as–The Writing Lady! When kids want to share something that they have written with you–you know you are doing the right thing. Relationships matter.

  2. What fun to be known as the “writing lady”! Isn’t it just amazing that kids pick up on these things so easily and quickly? They’re so intuitive. You are right that there are worse things to be called, but maybe nothing better! I giggled when I read that it’s you “jam”. I love that word in reference to our thang.

  3. I’d be honored to have that title. I am sure you are. Clearly you not only taught them to love writing, you established meaningful relationships.

  4. And how awesome is it to be The Writing Lady that kids trust their stories with you?!? That is such a great feeling of joy — for you both! Keep on, Writing Lady!

  5. Loving the dialogue. All that love…
    You are the writing lady (to therm) and the kids are very proud to show you what they have written. What a great relationship you have built with them.

  6. This is so cute Dana!!! I love that you have inspired the kiddos so much that they want to share their writing with you! You are such an important part of Edgewood. The writing lady suits you well. πŸ™‚

  7. I love that title for you, Dana. I am certain that the children love your friendly personality and helpful tips on how to become better writers. The dialogue in your slice worked very nicely with the flow of your story.

Leave a Reply

