Going Nowhere

We spent Memorial Day weekend at our lake house.  As we waited for the burgers to cook on the grill Saturday evening, the girls and I went for a walk.  We meandered down the lane, stopping to inspect a fallen leaf or a lazy caterpillar making his way towards the lake.  Katie slipped her hand in mine.  Maddie skipped ahead a few strides, her curls still wet from an afternoon swim.

“This is my favorite thing ever.  This is why we bought the lake house,” I said aloud.

“What’s your favorite thing ever?” Katie asked.

“This.  Walking with you two.  Having nowhere to go.  Taking our time.  All of this.”

“It’s my favorite, too,” Katie agreed.

I gave her hand a gentle squeeze.  We kept walking and going nowhere at all.

SOL

This is my Slice of Life Story. Share yours at Two Writing Teachers every Tuesday.

 

 

17 thoughts on “Going Nowhere

  1. I say you were going far making wonderful memories and sharing quality time with your family! One word . . . priceless!

  2. Funny…I had the same feelings this past weekend when my son and his girlfriend visited us on Long Island. For once they did not dash off anywhere to visit friends or shop, or whatever. We all just sat outside together…going nowhere and enjoying our barbecue and our togetherness. Your post today is a gem!

  3. One of the things I loved the most about living in Beirut was that we walked everywhere and because of the need to cross a street every block we walked hand in hand. I loved it (both the walking and the hand holding, actually). She was finishing Kindergarten then and I told her over and over how much I loved holding her hand and that it was one of the things I was going to miss the most. Just this morning someone saw her holding my hand as we walked into school and commented on how sweet it was. I replied that it was for my benefit, and it is, she knows how much I love it. Glad you get to enjoy it too!

  4. Gorgeous! Time stands still in moments like that, and you wish you could tie them up in ribbons and place them in your heart forever; and in a way you do. Life’s treasures.

Leave a Reply

