Day 28: Maybe Holidays Don’t Suck

I hosted Easter dinner at my house.  To be honest, the holidays stress me out.  Holidays mean extra planning, extra shopping, extra cleaning – a bunch of extra stuff in an already crammed schedule.

Last night after dinner though, I looked around my messy kitchen.  The dirty dishes were everywhere.  Maddie and Katie were clamoring for dessert and my brother-in-law was clamoring for coffee.  My nephews were loudly debating something or other, and my niece was in mid-conversation with my sister.  My mom was wiping the countertops, and my husband was complaining about how much he had eaten.

It was loud, it was a mess, and it was beautiful.

Maybe the holidays aren’t so bad after all.

SOL

I’m writing a Slice of Life Story every day for the month of March as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge. See more at Two Writing Teachers.

15 thoughts on “Day 28: Maybe Holidays Don’t Suck

  1. I love the bustle and confusion and fun too. I know that it is a lot of work in the beginning, but the family can come together in joy and love. That makes it all worth it.

  2. During the family-raising years I often felt the way you do about holidays. I am still not a big fan of overdoing it, but I am able to prepare things at my own pace and do as much or as little as I care to. It’s much less stressful, so I do look forward to them more. And, of course, seeing my grown-up kids!

  3. Short, sweet and awesome! I usually whine about how I hate it when people come over to my house. My mum is a superglue for keeping relations intact. Once in a while, though, that I bask in the fun and noise when they come over.

    Once in a while only!

Leave a Reply

