Day 26: Green Beans and Our Song

I hate grocery shopping.

I hate making the list, I hate navigating the store, I hate loading the car, I hate bringing the groceries in the house, and I hate putting them away.  When I have the kids with me, I hate it all even more.

The girls and I were in the canned vegetable aisle when we heard our song suddenly playing over the PA system.

All three of us starting singing.  Katie was sitting in the front of the cart (she’s still small enough to do that, even at four years old) and Maddie was walking beside the cart.  I stood, looking at the green bean choices.  And we sang.

I had a dream so big and loud, I jumped so high I touched the clouds…

We were all smiling and Maddie glanced around to see if anyone was looking.  I didn’t care. We were loud and it was fun.

I stretched my hands out to the sky, we danced with –

The song got interrupted by an employee announcement and, just like that, we were back to the mundane task of shopping.  I pushed the cart past the green beans and into the land of pasta.

It was fun while it lasted though.

SOL

I’m writing a Slice of Life Story every day for the month of March as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge. See more at Two Writing Teachers.

14 thoughts on “Day 26: Green Beans and Our Song

  1. That is exactly what I do on a regular basis. As a shop assistant by day, I often get caught up in the songs and sing along and am proud to announce both my children have developed the habit. Sing your heart out.

  2. Such a great moment in time….and an interruption in the mundane task of shopping. There is a grocery delivery service in these parts. I think I would still pick out the veggies but use it for everything else….if I had a family at home. 🙂 No matter what, you are making memories….even in the canned beans!

  3. YES! You won’t remember the shopping in 5 years but you WILL remember that time you were singing in the grocery store. Carpe Diem! My children are grown up but they still remember the fun and kooky things we did when they were young.

  4. So darn cute, those kids of yours. And their mom is such a doll and an inspiration and a wonderful writer. I love learning about you and them in this way! How blessed we all are!

  5. See and now you said in one of my old posts that you didn’t have a love for music. This tells a different story! A love for music comes in many forms. This is certainly one form. 🙂

Leave a Reply

