Day 16: Just Because

We pulled into the driveway, and the kids unbuckled their seat belts.  They sprang out of the minivan while I gathered up all of our bags.

“Mommy, Mommy!  A bunny!  Look!” Katie shouted.

I gathered up the rest of our belongings and walked up the driveway.

“Look!” Maddie hollered.

The girls stood next to a bright blue flag.  The flag was on a metal stand which had been firmly planted in the ground next to our door.  It displayed the cutest little Easter bunny holding a basket of brightly painted eggs.  Happy Easter! it proclaimed.

“Well,” I said with a smile on my face, “there is only one person I know who would do something like this…”

“Bama!” the girls said in unison.  They knew, too.

My mom.  She is the only person I know who would drive the 45 minutes to our house just to leave a little surprise outside our front door.  Just because it would make us smile.

Just because.

 

SOL

I’m writing a Slice of Life Story every day for the month of March as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge. See more at Two Writing Teachers.

22 thoughts on “Day 16: Just Because

  1. This piece is so vivid–I felt like I was seeing it for the first time right alongside you. What a fun surprise from your mom–she sounds like an amazing person! 🙂

  2. As I read I thought you were going to run out of the car to stop the girls from scaring the little (real) bunny. What a wonderful way to come home – the sign is great, but the sentiment is what really matters!

  3. I love reading “mom” stories! My mom passed when I was pretty young but I know she would be as special as the stories I read. Thanks for sharing Dana.

  4. I thought it was a live bunny too. So fun that the girls knew exactly who it was and answered in unison. I bet they had to call Bama when they got in the house!

  5. I love the Just Because moments….they are everything. Thank you for sharing this, and I love that you daughters immediately knew…their Bama is so special!

  6. I want to be a grandma like your mom one day in the very, very distant future! I wonder if I should start making a list now while my boys are in high school of all the wonderful little things I’d like to remember to do for their kids one day. I will add this to my list!

Leave a Reply

