Day 15: Magic

We took the girls to a St. Patrick’s Day party at the local Irish association and banquet hall. It is a fun day for the kids (balloon artists, face painting, kiddie cocktails) and a fun day for the adults (live Irish music, corned beef, Irish sausage and chips, beer, more beer).

I stood on the perimeter of the room as a sea of children dressed in green gathered around the stage.  The magician would be starting soon.  Maddie and Katie had scored themselves seats in the front row.  I watched the show from the side of the room, but I didn’t see all of the magician’s tricks because my eyes were fixed on Katie.

I tried to snap a photo of her, but the photo just didn’t capture all the things I wanted to remember.

Magic Show.png

It didn’t capture the way Katie’s eyes never left the magician.

It didn’t capture the way she would cover her mouth with her little hand when she gasped in delight.

It didn’t capture the way she laughed out loud at all the funny parts.

It didn’t capture the way she applauded excitedly after each trick.

It didn’t capture the way she glanced at Maddie throughout the show to make sure she was enjoying it as well.

I watched the show from the side of the room, but the magic wasn’t on the stage.  It was sitting cross-legged in the front row dressed in green.

SOL

I’m writing a Slice of Life Story every day for the month of March as part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge. See more at Two Writing Teachers.

 

 

21 thoughts on “Day 15: Magic

  1. This is absolutely beautiful. I find myself wishing the same thing–that I could just bottle up all these special moments and live them over and over again. I’m glad you were able to save this one in your writing!

  2. You’re right. The magic is in the eyes of our kids. Wouldn’t it be great if we adults looked at the world in the same way – with awe and wonder?! Your story grabbed that even if your picture didn’t!

  3. Kids are magic and what they bring to our lives is priceless memories and heartwarming love! Sounds like the kids and adults had a great time!

  4. I loved how you organized your writing around those things the photo “didn’t show.” It gave the slice a special touch. Thanks for capturing and sharing such a sweet (and magical) moment in time.

  5. I love how you featured a photograph and then revealed all that it didn’t capture. Very clever. And what a great ending line: “I watched the show from the side of the room, but the magic wasn’t on the stage. It was sitting cross-legged in the front row dressed in green.” It’s delightful to consistently read your posts and see how much you treasure the magic in your children.

  6. I am in awe of how you take the time to enjoy your daughters. They grow up so quickly and become adults. Your writing helps to slow that down just a bit and take it all in. Kudos to you, Mom!

  7. Any mother (or grandmother) could relate to this beautifully written post. I agree, the magic is always on a child’s face. Thanks for sharing.

  8. This is one of the most fun things about becoming a parent. Seeing the magic and wonder in their eyes. Everything is amazing to them! It’s so fun to watch. I’m glad you got to see that at the magic show!

  9. I love all the choices you made throughout this piece, especially the ending “It was sitting cross-legged in the front row dressed in green.” The power and impact this has versus just saying “It was Katie”, brilliant!

  10. Once again you continue to leave me with chills. I absolutely love the line, “It didn’t capture the way she glanced at Maddie throughout the show to make sure she was enjoying it as well.” I have two older sisters, and I always wanted to make sure that they enjoyed things the same way that I did. There’s something profound about seeing someone you love enjoying things with you. You captured your feelings perfectly. The repetition, and the reference to the real magic being your daughter. One day, they’ll read these posts and cry. They will always know how much you treasure them.

Leave a Reply

