Day 2: Pirate Antics

Our local home improvement store has a Cozy Coupe type car attached to the front of the regular cart for bored kids to sit in while their parents shop.  My kids turned it into a pirate ship.

We were shopping for new lighting for our recently remodeled kitchen.  I stood craning my neck upward to see the details of a fixture when I heard Maddie bellow, “Ahoy, matey!  We are setting sail on the seven seas!  Keep a fierce lookout!”  I turned towards Maddie’s very loud voice to see her standing in the cart, her right foot perched atop the Cozy Coupe attachment.  She had one hand on her hip and her other hand was gripping her imaginary pirate telescope.  “There is trouble ahead!” she yelled.

“Ahoy, matey!” came Katie’s voice from inside the Cozy Coupe ship.  “Ahoy!”

An older gentlemen stood at the end of the aisle watching Maddie and Katie.  Our eyes met and we offered each other a smile, both of us amused at the antics of the two pirates sailing the seven seas.

SOL

I’m writing a Slice of Life Story every day for the month of March as part of the 9th Annual SOLSC at Two Writing Teachers.

20 thoughts on “Day 2: Pirate Antics

  1. I love how this piece truly exemplifies how much fun even an ordinary event is with kids. I love their imaginations–this sounds like a fun shopping trip! 🙂

  2. Sounds like a fun day at the home improvement store! I love how the girls were using their imaginations to create a story; and that scene sparked a wonderful story for you to share with us…a story, within a story, within a story…magic

  3. I absolutely love the way children view the world… taking something so simple as a shopping cart and turning it into the adventure of a lifetime!

  4. I love to see what kids come up with when they need to amuse themselves, and so glad to see your kids know how to amuse themselves with what’s around them — and without needing an electronic screen.

  5. So, I’m glad Maddie is safe. On another note, I laughed so hard that I began to cry. You have got to love kids and their wild imagination. I wish that my imagination still ran as wild as it used to. ~All Smiles

  6. I love how our slices are slightly related! All I know, is if I saw Pirate Katie at my store…I would gladly join in on the fun. Your slices about your girls are so much fun to read!! I look forward to more adventures of Pirate Katie…or whoever she decides to be that day! 🙂

  7. Your girls don’t know how lucky they are getting to ride in those special carts! I only bring one child at a time and make them walk! It’s always nice to read anything you write, Dana. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

