Racing the Moon

We drove down the darkened street in silence.  No noise was coming from the back seats, and I wondered if the girls had fallen asleep.

Suddenly the silence was broken.

“We’re racing the moon, Mommy!” Katie squealed.

I didn’t have to turn around to know what she was doing.  I knew Katie was staring out the car window, her eyes on the moon high above us.  I knew because I used to watch the moon, too, when I was a young girl in the back seat of my mom’s car.  I used to stare out the car window and wonder if the moon was following us.

“Go, Mommy, go!  We’re racing the moon!” Katie exclaimed again.

Katie.  Always so full of wonder and joy.  Just like me as a little girl, but brighter somehow. It is as if she took all my best parts and made them better.

Katie, delighted to live in a world where it is possible to race the moon.

SOL

This is my Slice of Life Story this week. Share yours at Two Writing Teachers every Tuesday!

17 thoughts on “Racing the Moon

  1. Oh, I’ll bet your parents thought you were a “brighter” with their best parts better, too!
    I remember thinking that the moon was following us as I looked out the car window – and even when I knew why it wasn’t but looked like it, it still holds a fascination.
    How wonderful to have a fascinating, fascinated kid in your “back seat”! See if you can get a poem out of her! I’ll bet she’s going to be a writer!

  2. I imagine that Katie became ‘brighter’ because of you, Dana. I do love the moon, and even older, still love to watch for it, from home or traveling. You may want to find “How The Moon Got To Coco’s House” for Katie. It’s a lovely book.

  3. Great story! It brought back memories of sitting in the back seat and asking my Mom if the moon was following us. I can still picture it in my head. Isn’t it funny the things we remember about childhood?

  4. I love this….I too raced the moon on my way home tonight…. It was incredible and bright on our blanket of snow…leading the way home…just as your daughter noticed.

  5. Love, love, love this line – Just like me as a little girl, but brighter somehow. It is as if she took all my best parts and made them better. This line will stay with me for quite some time! That is all I needed today. Thank you – simplicity and appreciating the small moments is such a gift and you clearly give it to your family every day.
    Clare

Leave a Reply

