Click Click Clack

I have an idea I had told my husband last summer.  An idea for a book.   He listened.  He thought.  Finally, he spoke.  Write it, he said.

I have an idea I told my colleagues.  An idea for a book.  They listened.  They thought.  Finally, they spoke.  You should write it they said.

I have an idea I told my friends.  An idea for a book.  They listened.  They thought.  Finally, they spoke.  You should totally write it they said.

For a long time, I let the idea float around in my head.  Every now and again, I scribbled a thought or two in my writer’s notebook.  Every now and again, my husband reminded me of my dream.

Click-click-clack-clack-click-click-click.

My fingers tappity-tap the keys.  It is a Sunday afternoon, and the once steaming coffee mug sitting beside my keyboard has been cold for hours.

Write it they said.

So I write.

SOL

This is my Slice of Life Story this week. Share yours at Two Writing Teachers every Tuesday!

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “Click Click Clack

  1. Amazing! I have always loved your posts! Written so well and simple and complicated at the same time! I have always dreamt of being a writer and now here I am with my blog (planetgeorgia.net #selfpromotion) and dreams of publishing many novels, I write stories, not long enough to be books but stories all the same, I have just finished writing a story for a local writing competition French themed, I don’t care if I don’t win, I am emailing it out to all of my friends and family and I know they will love it! It takes place in Lyon and is a detective story, I think I shall post it on my blog. Thank you for the ever-so amazing posts, keep it up!
    Xx Planetgeorgia

  2. I’m so excited for you! I love writing and it’s a great stress reliever. I’ve got two series out “The Super Spies,” an Upper Middle Grade series and “The Starlight Chronicles,” a Coming of Age series. With each book, I improve and that’s such a great feeling. I also love it when my books inspire a tween or teen to read or write. It’s an incredible feeling, I’m sure you know that feeling being a literacy coach and all. 😉 Best of luck to you, I’m sure you’ll do well!

  3. It’s as simple and easy as that, isn’t it? First comes the inspiration (the idea); then comes the difficult part…sitting one ‘s butt in a chair and believing in oneself every day until it’s done. Keep on believing and typing. We’re all rooting for you!

  4. This is about making dreams into reality. We spend important time rehearsing and playing with ideas, but eventually we must allow the words to emerge onto the page. The world needs brave writers. Commit.

Leave a Reply

