Missing Mommy

I explained to Maddie and Katie that I would be gone for four days.  I told them I was taking an airplane to Washington D.C. with my new friends from work.  I told them I was going to learn how to be a better teacher.  I told them Daddy would be taking care of them.  They seemed to think this all sounded reasonable enough.

As I prepared to leave for the Learning Forward 2015 Conference on Sunday morning, my heart felt heavy.  I sure was going to miss my family.

“Mommy’s gonna miss you so much,” I said, readying myself for a teary good-bye.  I swallowed the lump in my throat and mentally rehearsed my farewell speech.  But I didn’t get a chance to speak.

“Bye, Mommy,” they called over their shoulders as they ran off to play.

Oh.

I looked at my husband in disbelief.  They’re going to miss you, too his eyes said to me.

Later that evening, I sat in the hotel lounge with my colleagues, taking in the beautiful view of Washington D.C. and chatting about work.  My phone vibrated with a text notification.  It was a video from my husband:

Oh, my sweet Katie.  She does miss me.  Of course, she misses me.

SOL

This is my Slice of Life Story this week. Share yours at Two Writing Teachers every Tuesday!

12 thoughts on “Missing Mommy

  1. Ohhhh. This made me think of when my youngest went to camp. They told parents NOT to send cards that said they missed them. I wonder if your husband should be allowed to send you those! It is harder on us.

  2. Kids react ‘in the moment’ like when they said ‘bye’ & ran off to play. But then, at bedtime. . . Of course they miss you. Still nice that you got to go to your conference!

  3. OMG that made my heart sad! I just left my littles for five days (the longest yet) and although my MIL kept it from me, my SIL told me that my son was crying for me in his sleep 😦 But they didn’t blink when I dropped them off either, just like yours!

  4. Oh, so sweet! A picture sure is worth a thousand words! She will miss you and she will be happy to see you when you get home. It is hard, but also really good for them to see they are fine without us! So glad you had time to learn and reflect. Learning Forward is a great conference — hope you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

