My Cup

Beep! Beep! Beep!

My alarm jolted me awake Monday morning.  I tapped the snooze button and pulled the covers tight around me.  It was Columbus Day.  We had the day off from work and school, and I just didn’t have the self-discipline to rouse myself out of bed.  I heard the coffee maker gurgle to life in the kitchen and closed my eyes as my head sank deeper into my pillow.  I heard the gentle footsteps before I heard the voice.  There would be no snoozing for me.

“Mommy?” Katie whispered.

I opened my eyes and smiled.  On a good day Katie’s hair is a tangle of wild curls.  In the morning, there is no taming her bedhead.  At three years old, she is the perfect height to just peer over the top of my bed.  All I could see was her smiling face, her crazy curls, and her ever-present monkey blankie resting on her tiny shoulder.

“Good morning, sweetheart,” I whispered back.

“Mommy play school with me?”

“Okay, Katie.  Give Mommy just a minute to wake up.”

Katie pattered out of my bedroom, presumably to set up her classroom.  I took a moment to stare out the bedroom window.  I had slept a solid two hours past my normal weekday wake-up time.  We had left the bedroom window cracked slightly open the night before, and a cool morning breeze blew past my face.  The tree outside our bedroom window was already starting to turn glorious shades of red and yellow.  Our house curves in such a way that I could see the windows of our beautiful sun room from my bed.  I smelled the coffee as it filled the pot, and I heard Katie’s footsteps and sweet voice down the hall.  I knew Maddie was still sound asleep upstairs, but she would soon join us with her own version of bedhead and her faithful Clifford trailing alongside.

Every once in a while, if I take a moment from the hustle and bustle of our life, I wonder: how did I get so lucky?  My cup sure does runneth over.

I held it in my heart, this gratitude, as my feet hit the carpet and I stretched my arms overhead. Gratitude for this beautiful, beautiful life.

  

7 thoughts on “My Cup

Leave a Reply

