Play

Share your Slice of Life Story today at Two Writing Teachers

Share your Slice of Life Story today at Two Writing Teachers

We won’t be able to do this much longer.

Soon it will be too dark, too cold, too snowy to play outside after school.  Autumn is knocking on our door, offering us pumpkin spice lattes and comfy sweatshirts.  We are doing our best to ignore her knock, but soon enough she will barge her way into our lives.  Our snow plow sits in a dusty corner of the garage, buried beneath the toys of summer.  But I see him giving us a sideways glance as we walk through the garage.  He smirks at our sandals and shorts, knowing he will soon have his day.

No, we don’t have much longer.

Today we came home from a long day of work and school, but we didn’t collapse onto the couch and turn on the TV.  I am tired and the girls are hungry, and it would be so easy to just call it quits.  But this isn’t my first time around the sun, and I know we are on borrowed time.  So, we grabbed a snack and our smiles and found the energy to go outside.

We knock on the neighbor’s door to see if their little friend can come out to play.  The girls run and swing and slide and climb.  I sit here in this patio chair while the wind blows and the sun shines.  I hear them playing – make believe, as always.  I overhear them pretending to be teachers today.  No, wait, now they are being a mommy and her “honey”.  Their imaginations fill me with such happiness.  I wish I could bottle up their care-free play and give it to the downtrodden.

We won’t be able to do this much longer, I know.  Autumn will come and then dreaded winter will arrive.  Again and again, the seasons will change.  My girls will grow older and maybe, just maybe, they will stop imagining and playing in this realm of make-believe.  The seasons will change and, someday, they might find a reason to stop believing, to stop laughing the way they are laughing right now.  No, we don’t have much time.  So I type and I watch and I listen… and I feel grateful we took the time to play today.

Play

12 thoughts on “Play

  1. I,too, took the time to “play” with my 32-year-old daughter today. We sat in our beach chairs for a couple of hours and braved the wind just to have one more afternoon with the ocean. Did I have other things that I needed to do? You bet! Did I care…not really. I’ve learned that “stuff” to do will always be there, but my daughter and I together…probably not. Good for you!

  2. This is one of my favorite times of the year. I enjoy being outside. Sitting on the patio with a cup of coffee enjoying the sunshine and the coo breezes – doesn’t get much better. Glad you and the girls are taking the time to enjoy. the weather. As you say, the cold and snow are on their way.

  3. So true. I will have to remind my daughter to get outside more in the next two weeks before the cold weather comes. I love autumn though, the cooler temperatures and beautiful trees. Thanks for sharing.

  4. “But this isn’t my first time around the sun, and I know we are on borrowed time. So, we grabbed a snack and our smiles and found the energy to go outside.” What a great line! We also headed out last night to the local nature center to walk the trails, feel the wind and enjoy the setting sun. What a glorious fall!

  5. Enjoy these days! My boys are so grown-up now (both in high school)! Every summer is stamped with their footprints. Little guys splashing in the baby pool; now big guys gathered with their friends, chatting around the fire pit. Thank you for reminding me to get out and enjoy these few fleeting days of summer with my boys.

  6. Thank you so much for sharing your special talent for making your words come alive, paced as they were to communicate the urgency of the need to seize the day. A the same time that your ideas sped along, my heart was wanting to slow the pace down–to extend the season filled with sunlight and imaginings. In the autumn of my life (I hope; though maybe winter), your deeply moving post filled my eyes with tears–gratitude, longing, regret. Thank you! Important thoughts. Well done.

  7. So very true Dana . . . the time will move forward and we can’t stop it! However we can enjoy each moment just like you are doing 🙂 Enjoy!

  8. I love the way you organized your writing and added the short bits of lines around the longer text!
    I agree – not much longer. I’m in the northwest suburbs of Chicago and I’m taking these 80 degree days, because I know what’s around the corner!

  9. I loved your personification of the snow plow: Our snow plow sits in a dusty corner of the garage, buried beneath the toys of summer. But I see him giving us a sideways glance as we walk through the garage. He smirks at our sandals and shorts, knowing he will soon have his day.

    I’m headed out for a walk – it’s a beautiful evening, and you’ve convinced me to step away from the computer and enjoy it!

  10. I wrote about change coming, too, Dana, but with a ‘welcome’ in mind, sorry. I also wrote a few weeks ago about that outside play. I love hearing what my granddaughters “cook up” in their stories, and especially outside. I wish that part wouldn’t change, that we could hold on to it a while longer. Love reading your thoughts about ‘yesterday’.

Leave a Reply

