What If

We closed up the lake house this weekend.  We unplugged the air conditioners and took the blankets off the beds.  We emptied the refrigerator and the pantry.  We covered the boat and deflated the inner tube.  After a wonderful Labor Day weekend, we said good-bye to Crooked Lake with the promise to return in the spring.

Our sun-kissed faces looked a little gloomy as we settled into the car for the three hour drive back home.  We’re going to miss the lake, the bonfires, the fun.  I stared out the window as my husband sped along the interstate, and I wondered… what if?

What if we take a little bit of the lake back home?

What if, when Maddie and Katie want an extra bedtime story, I say yes instead of no?
What if I worry less about the house being clean and more about the house being fun?
What if, after the girls go to bed at night, I play cards with my husband instead of taking out my laptop?
What if we take the time to look up at the stars?
What if we sleep in on the weekends and don’t feel one bit bad about it?
What if I sip my coffee each morning as if I don’t have a care in the world?
What if I stop checking the clock all the time?
What if we all just slow down?

When spring comes, we’ll head back to Crooked Lake. We’ll plug in the air conditioners and put the blankets back on the beds.  We’ll fill up the refrigerator and the pantry.  We’ll uncover the boat and blow up the inner tube.  But in the meantime…

What if I bring a bit of the lake home with us?

Join the Slice of Life Story link-up every Tuesday at the Two Writing Teachers.

Join the Slice of Life Story link-up every Tuesday at the Two Writing Teachers.

13 thoughts on “What If

  1. It is to take the bliss of vacation back to the real world. It sounds like there are pieces you can bring forth into real life as you transition into the heart of the school year.

    Maybe you need to tape the words “what if” around your home… to a few of the places where you think you need to be reminded to slow down the most. Just a thought.

  2. What if you had a bottle of lake water displayed prominently so that looking at it brings back the wonderful memories and serves as a reminder to slow down. This is advice that I think we all can use. We too often get caught up in the business of life that we sometimes forget about what is truly important. I think you covered those points beautifully.

  3. Love your ideas for bringing the lake home – I was thinking of visual reminders and you’re remembering the more important reminders of less worry, less hurry, more play, more slow!

  4. I hope that you do just that, Dana. It is those pleasures that make the lake time so wonderful, & you’ve found a way to bring them with you. Someone just posted on my FB page about slowing down to “be” instead of “do”. That’s what I felt at the beach, and now you’ve given me an idea about bringing that home with me.

  5. Your lake house has given you a gift beyond summer memories, Dana; it’s given you a newer and wiser perspective on what matters most – your family, and making every moment with them count. Love the FB pictures – everyone looks so happy to be together in that magical place. What a great addition to your family life!

  6. I need some of the lake as well…more time to relish and relax! I enjoyed this beautifully written post. It made me feel nostalgic for the slow pace of summer vacation. Thanks for the reminder!

  7. Dana, I just loved this post and how you structured it with the repeated “What if”s. There’s a world of possibility within each of them. Hopefully, with summer in your heart, you’ll travel lightly through winter–Then you can recharge at the magical lake house!

  8. I sincerely hope you do all of your “what ifs”‘ as tough as it is when life gets going full steam ahead . . . The what “ifs” are what really matter! I look forward to reading about them 🙂

  9. Oh, I know how you feel! I just want to hang on to something of summer. Now that Labor Day is over, we try to find memories. Yet, I’m looking forward to cooler fall weather and football fun. Have a great new season!

  10. This is so beautiful! First of all, I wish I had a lake house. Second, I like your idea of bringing the lake house home. Playing cards with your husband, totally possible. Sipping coffee on a Saturday morning, without a care… doable. I have noticed that when I started doing this (or my version of it) a little bit a few years ago, it didn’t really change things in my work much, but it did change things in my home – very much. Isn’t it always a balance? Accepting more of yourself in one place and less in another. For the right reasons, go for it!

Leave a Reply

