No Time to Think

I haven’t had much time to write lately.  I have two self-imposed deadlines hanging over my head.  As I stood at the kitchen counter eating my gourmet dinner of a hot dog and cottage cheese (it was that kind of a day), my mind drifted to my writing projects.  I started envisioning some new parts to my writing pieces and revising some old parts in my head, as writers often do.

But I was interrupted by Mom!  Mom!  I meed you in the baff-room.  Mom!

And then by Mom!  Look!  Look at my puzzle!  Look what I did!

And then there was a Can I watch you eat, Mama?  Can I?

Oh, and then Mom where’s my bunny coloring sheet?  Mom?  Remember the sheet?  Mom?

Plus the Mom, where is Daddy?  Mom?  Is he at work?

Also Mommy, can I have a dink of your water?  Mommy?  Dink peese!

Then Mom?  What if a tornado picked up another tornado?

Like I said, I haven’t had much time to think write lately.

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge.  Join at Two Writing Teachers.

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge. Join at Two Writing Teachers.

13 thoughts on “No Time to Think

  1. The dialogue you include perfectly sets the tone for your writing. When I don’t have time to write or time to write the way I want, I feel disappointed in myself for not having that time. I wish you the best for some time to be in your own head.

  2. This makes me smile! Sounds exactly like my life–no time to think (well, you’re doing plenty of thinking–your brain’s just too full of the kid stuff to squeeze anything else in). And when the house is finally quiet at night, it seems like your brain is just too exhausted to think anymore…. Cute post, especially all the questions!

  3. I’d say you have been thinking quite a bit :-). Some day all those mommy questions will be silenced so I guess the message here is…enjoy them!

  4. I remember those days so clearly, and you captured the moment perfectly! Now, for me, it’s “Mom, could you take me out driving? I have to log more hours…some hours driving after dark.” “Mom, can we shop for new khakis? My ankles are showing.”

  5. I feel like this too — no time to think, no time to write. And, then as one comment says, when we actually have the extra time, we just want to crash. Everyone says parenting gets easier. Hey—there will be a day when she can get her own ‘dink’! This is a cute slice; great use of dialogue to bring us in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

