Some Mornings

Some mornings are easy.  Maddie shrugs off her coat and backpack with confidence.  She gives me a quick kiss and a hug before she runs off to join her friends.  She is smiling wide as I take Katie’s hand and we make our exit.  “Bye, Maddie,” I call as we step into the hallway, but she doesn’t hear me.

Some mornings are easy.  Katie cannot even wait to shrug off her coat and backpack.  She enters her room full of stories to share.  “Miss Mick-ole, I went to the libe-erry last year and I made a kie-craper!  Her told us about the tower.”  Miss Nicole looks at me for a translation.  “That’s right.  Katie went to the library last night and made a skyscraper and learned about the Eiffel Tower.”  But Katie is no longer interested in this conversation as she plays cars and trucks with her little friends.  “Bye, Katie,” I call as I step into the hallway, but she doesn’t hear me.

Then there are mornings like today.  Maddie stood with her coat and backpack on, looking around the room sheepishly.  It seems Maddie left her confidence at home this morning.  She hung onto my coat as I inched toward the door.  She was unsure how to insert herself into the already-formed groups of playing kids.  I tried to give her the words to use; I tried to reassure her.  As I clumsily released from our hug, she remained in the doorway, her eyes willing me not to leave. “Bye, Maddie,” I called as I stepped into the hallway.  “Bye, Mommy,” she answered sadly.

I put Katie’s coat and backpack in her cubby.  I looked down to find Katie standing at my feet, arms outstretched.  I scooped her up as I glanced at the clock.  She lay her head on my shoulder.  I closed my eyes for a second and pretended I didn’t have to leave.  “Ready for breakfast, Katie?” Miss Nicole asked.  Katie didn’t answer.  I set her gently in her chair and ruffled her curls.  “Bye, Katie,” I called as I stepped into the hallway.  “Bye, Mama,” Katie called back sadly.

Some mornings are like today.

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge.  Join at Two Writing Teachers.

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge. Join at Two Writing Teachers.

11 thoughts on “Some Mornings

  1. I enjoyed the way you described Maddie telling her libe-erry story. So cute! Maddie leaving her confidence at home this morning, oh, I know sometimes I leave part of my mind at home, so I know the feeling! Tomorrow will be a better day!

  2. Those morning are hard – I remember them. I also bet those are the days they don’t want to come home when you go to pick them up. Transitions are hard for little ones and sometimes us big folks as well.

  3. Excuse me while I swallow the lump in my throat. ugh, I can totally relate to the pain of leaving a hesitant little one in the care of others. Some days they are independent socialites, some days we’re reminded that they are Little. And they still need their Mommies. Hope the day passes quickly and you are greeted tonight with hugs and laughter from a play filled day!

  4. The vivid description. The moment in time. “Some mornings are like today” – for sure! Your story is one for all mom’s – and their kids. I was called this morning by a frantic friend whose alarm didn’t ring, thereby prompting her to oversleep. She would agree that “some mornings are like today!”

  5. Those. Are. Hard. Mornings. Thankfully they don’t happen as often as the “easy” see-ya-later-Momma days! But those sad little voices do pull at your heartstrings. And we all have those days. Tomorrow is a new day – and then it’ll be Saturday! We always look forward to a Saturday!

  6. Your post pulled at my heartstrings. I loved this line “She lay her head on my shoulder. I closed my eyes for a second and pretended I didn’t have to leave.”

    You captured that one small moment and allowed your readers to share it. Thank you.

  7. Such a beautifully descriptive slice. Not only could I visualize your morning as it unfolded, but I could literally feel the sadness in your heart pouring out through your words…..”some mornings are like today” ….(sigh).

Leave a Reply

