Welcome to Someday

Our “Someday” dream is to buy a lake house.  We’ve been putting a little money aside, and we started to make a pile of our old, unused furniture in the basement. We were saving it all for Someday.  We had dreams that Someday Maddie and Katie would look back on their childhood and remember fondly the summer days we spent at our lake house.  They would remember the beautiful days spent on the boat, the dinners on the back porch, the starry-skied evenings around the campfire.  Someday.

Over the years, the savings pile grew and Maddie and Katie did too.  What are we waiting for, we wondered.  So we searched and we searched until we found the perfect house.  We signed our names on the dotted lines, and we made today Someday.

 If you’re looking for me this summer, there is only one way to reach me.  Get in your car and drive due east from Chicago to a little town in Indiana with a big lake.  If you come early in the morning, you’ll probably catch me sitting on the back patio, sipping from a mug of coffee, looking at the water.  If you come later in the day, chances are you’ll find me on our boat with a drink in my hand or maybe at the beach with my feet in the sand.  You’re welcome to stay – we made sure there is room enough for guests at the lake house.  We’re glad you could come…and welcome to Someday.

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge.  Join at Two Writing Teachers.

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge. Join at Two Writing Teachers.

37 thoughts on “Welcome to Someday

  1. I always love your slices and how you get right to the core of things and leave me wondering how you made me feel so much in not so many words. Enjoy your Someday.

  2. How fortunate that your someday dream has come true. Inspiring me to reflect on my someday dream and my progress to reaching it.

  3. Someday…Love this and love the picture in my mind of morning coffee on the deck, boating in the afternoon “with drink in hand” and “toes in the sand.” How hard would it be to look you up and enjoy this with you? I think I read an invite. 😉
    Happy Today! D 🙂

  4. I agree with Michelle I would love to see a picture of your someday retreat. This is such a gift, to have a dream and see it realized – and the more generous you are greater the gift becomes. My brother had a someday dream only his resides deep into the mountains of Vermont a stream runs through his property so there is a constant sound of rushing waters and birdsong. This special place returns its residents back to nature where the nights are seeped in indigo like a fragrant exotic tea. The air is cool in the summer and cold in the fall. Being part of a close family is a gift, we have all these memories of Vermont thanks to my brother Gene and Terri (my sister-in-law who is more like my sister). Their dream has made long lasting impacts on my family. My son has written prose about it – my daughters walk freely though the woods with their cousin Olivia who is like another sister – my husband bonds over quad rides and boisterous humor, and I get to return to my childhood family and be in touch with who crafted the woman I’ve become. We eat around a table where everyone takes turns bringing their own special dish, we are crowed, we are loud, but we are so very happy. Thank you for your post it touched me deeply because I truly understand the gift of dreams and the blessings when those dreams come to fruition

  5. This is inspiring Dana! Loving how you shared your someday dream…makes me think of how so often we push aside our some days! I am sure this summer will be the best of your life and I am sure we could also find you at your lake house writing, knocking things off that professional someday list!!!!
    -Dana

  6. What a lovely piece! Congratulations on finding your someday. Now, was that a left by the lake, or a right? I’d hate to bring the family and barge in on the wrong someday cottage this summer. 😉

    Best wishes!

  7. I love how you invite us all in – to your slice and to your lake house. It makes me feel like we could be great friends. “We made today Someday” is a powerful line, and I like how you created the word as a proper noun to give it the same importance as other days we use to mark our milestones. There are so many crafts I can try from this slice.

  8. Your invitation is so tempting. Wish I lived closer. I’m so glad you made someday today. I was afraid your story was heading in another direction.

  9. So! Awesome! You guys are going to make the most perfect memories there. We’ve made so many at my parents lake house. It’s just a perfect way to spend your summers. So happy for you guys and I can tell from your writing how excited you are too!

  10. Congrats Dada! Very exciting! We had the same hopes for creating such memories and I think we have been successful! However, make sure you take advantage of every weekend because now sports have taken over our calendar and we don’t make it there as often as we would like. It’s so fun and encouraging to see your dreams come true! Another story delivered in few words – thanks for sharing your talents!

  11. Congrats Dada! Very exciting! We had the same hopes for creating such memories and I think we have been successful! However, make sure you take advantage of every weekend because now sports have taken over our calendar and we don’t make it there as often as we would like. It’s so fun and encouraging to see your dreams come true! Another story delivered in few words – thanks for sharing your talents!

  12. How exciting for you and your family!! I have had my lakehouse for 15 years. Buy a journal and sign it everytime you are there and fill it with lots of memories. I am on journal #4.

  13. Wow! That it is super exciting, Dana! Let the memory making begin! I love Marsha’s idea too — a journal for the lake house. Also let your visitors sign the book too and record memories. Enjoy settling into your ‘someday’ home. Maybe you find a cool sign to hang on the front porch or the back porch with ‘someday’ on it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

