My Person

I recently attended a workshop led by Steven Layne, one of my favorite authors of professional books.  He said, “All of you should have at least one person in your life who always tells you the truth.  If you don’t have that person, go find one.”  I have that person.  It’s my husband.  He is a pretty straight shooter. He is never hurtful, yet he doesn’t sugar coat the truth for me. He is just honest; I appreciate that.  He’s my person.

He tells me when my cooking is great, and I believe him.

He tells me when my hair looks nice, and I believe him.

He tells me when my writing is poor, and I believe him.

He tells me when I’m being unreasonable, and I believe him.

He tells me when my writing is great, and I believe him.

He tells me I’m a good mom, and I believe him.

He tells me he had fun hanging out with me over the weekend, and I believe him.

He listens to me complain about gaining weight.  He listens to my self-doubt.  He tolerates my negative body image.  He listens to me criticize myself.  He says, “Babe, I think you look beautiful,” and I don’t believe him.

I need to start believing him.  He’s my person.

17 thoughts on “My Person

  1. What is it with us women who have these men in our lives that we trust to speak truth to us, but when they say something about how beautiful we are, we just doubt their sincerity? I do that all the time to my husband. I know he gets frustrated with me. I will try to start believing mine, and you can try to start believing yours. They are right about everything else!

  2. If this is what you write, when you write late…then you should write late more often. You’re lucky to have such a person in your life. Believe him, all the time!

  3. I love this idea of writing about your “person.” It reminds me of Grey’s Anatomy and how Meredith and Christina are each others’ person. I have a person. I should write about her.

  4. Dana, It kills me to hear you beat yourself up. I know I’m not your person (which by the way I love the title and idea behind this slice…I’m now thinking about my person) but you are beautiful from the inside-out. Trust your person, he’s right!

Leave a Reply

