Close Call

The following is a true story.  It is not a dramatization.

Ever since I quit smoking over two years ago, I have rewarded myself after work with a cinnamon-flavored hard candy.  It started as a way to divert my nicotine cravings, and now it is just a treat I enjoy when I get into my car each day after work.

Yesterday, I popped the candy in my mouth and drove away like always.  Suddenly, the candy slid right down my throat.  It was stuck!  Stuck in my airway!

Instantly, I panicked.  In the space of a nano second, thoughts flooded my mind:

I’m choking.  What should I do?  Stop the car, get out, flag someone down.  I can’t breathe.  This is it.  This is how I’m going to die.  Nobody will know what happened to me.  Wait, maybe I can breathe.  What should I do?  I’m choking.  I can feel the candy lodged in my throat.  Should I call someone?  I have to pull over

All of these thoughts raced through my head.  But one thought stood out, one thought hurt the most:

I’m going to miss it.

Maddie and Katie are going to grow up, and I won’t be here to see it.  

Well, needless to say, I didn’t die.  I did pull over, and the candy remained painfully lodged in my throat for quite some time.  But I didn’t die.

Thank God because I just don’t want to miss it.

20 thoughts on “Close Call

  1. I can completely relate to your post–the idea of not being around for my kids is one of the most horrible things I can think of. So glad you were OK–what a scary feeling!

  2. This post gave me goosebumps. The story is great to share, but it’s the way in which you wrote it that makes it even more powerful.

  3. What a great reason to hug the kids tighter when you get home. Who knew a piece of candy could cause so much panic? Glad that you are fine.

Leave a Reply

