A Bit of a Bad Day

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge.  Join at Two Writing Teachers.

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge. Join at Two Writing Teachers.

The beautiful spring-like day was coming to an end.  I walked into the daycare to pick up Maddie and Katie.  I was greeted with hugs and tales of rainbow crafts and outside playtime.  But things only went downhill from there.

Maddie cried

because we went to get the car washed.  She wanted to get home quickly and get right to work on her Star of the Week poster.

because she spilled the crayons in her excitement to color her Star of the Week poster.

because she wrote her age backwards on the poster.  Twice.

because after we practiced making 5’s on a practice page, she wrote it backwards on the poster again.

because she didn’t know how to spell her favorite color, pink.

because she didn’t know how to spell her other favorite color, purple.

By this time, I felt like crying, too.  “Mommy?” Maddie said between sniffles.  “I think I’m just having a bit of a bad day today.”  I bent down and wrapped my arms around her.

“Yes, it seems like you are, sweetheart,” I agreed.

It happens to us all the time, doesn’t it?  We wake up on the wrong side of the bed.  We spill our coffee, we get stuck in traffic, we are late for work.  We are irritable and sad and just plain down.   Sometimes, we have a bit of a bad day.  I suppose it happens to five year olds, too.

Later that evening at the Happy Books, Happy Cooks class at the public library, I stole a glance at Maddie.

And, finally, Maddie smiled.

IMG_1153

16 thoughts on “A Bit of a Bad Day

  1. We are all allowed to have one of those days every once in awhile. I’m glad she recognized the bit of a bad a day and could share that with you. So sweet. And also glad the evening turned around — how could you not smile with books and cooks? What fun! Today will be a bit of a good day! I can feel it! 🙂

  2. Aww poor Maddie….The structure and wording of this piece made me think of “Alexander and the No Good, Very Bad Day.” Hopefully, today is a better day! 🙂

  3. Those are the days when I just want to crawl back into bed, pull the covers up over my head, and just stay there until the next morning. The good thing is, however, they always pass.

Leave a Reply

