The Writer

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge.  Join at Two Writing Teachers.

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge. Join at Two Writing Teachers.

Like all book lovers, I prefer the passenger seat on a road trip. Road trips mean one thing: time to read. Of course, that was before…

You see, I’m a writer now.

A few month-long writing challenges, a blog I love, some articles for hire, and, yes, even an inkling of a book idea.   These projects tug at my heart stronger than the latest bestseller or must-read book.

You see, I’m a writer now.

Too many years of encouragement from teachers, kind words from friends, and have –you-ever-thought-about-writing-a-books from colleagues have finally filled my head with the notion to put words on paper.   Now that I’ve started, I don’t want to stop.

You see, I’m a writer now .

I still read, of course, as writers do. I brought a few books along on this road trip, and they sit in a pile at my feet. Reading fuels my writing. It hones my craft, if you will. Plus, I still love a good story. Most writers do.

You see, I’m a writer now.

So, here I sit, happy to be the passenger, laptop open, keys clicking as the sun shines and we make our down the highway.   Today, we are going to look at lake houses. This truck is taking us one step closer to our dream while these words take me one step closer to mine.

You see, I’m a writer now.

Writing in Car

Me, writing in the car.

27 thoughts on “The Writer

  1. Once again I thoroughly enjoyed reading your slice and related to it as well. One thing I’ve noticed since committing to the March Challenge is how much less time I’ve spent reading. There really is only so much time in the day and any “extra” time has shifted toward writing, or thinking about writing. It’s an interesting journey. Thanks for sharing yours!

  2. “You see, I’m a writer now.” Such an awesome line to repeat throughout. I also love your last line about words taking you closer to your dream. I’m so glad you are pursuing your dreams! May they take you where you want to go.

    Jennifer

  3. While I’m not writing a book, I have had that same shift. There is only so much time in a day, I love that you are taking on the driving of words into your life and into the lives of readers!

  4. Lovely. I’m so jealous that you can read and write in the car–I get carsick. I like that you explained how the encouragement of others got you started but now that you are writing, you don’t want to stop. And the whole passenger seat/driver’s seat as metaphor and reality is cool too.

  5. The repetition makes your point strong and clear. It also sounds like a joyful chant. Wishing you all the best with writing the book.

  6. I, too, love the repetition of the line, “I am a writer.” This is a good writing technique that students can implement, too. I love using “The Important Book” by Margaret Wise Brown to help children with this technique. It works for poetry and expository writing by giving students a framework with a repeated phrase, “But the important thing about ____ is ____.” Happy Writing and Lake House Hunting! D 🙂

  7. Dana,
    This is just wonderful!
    I’m still chuckling – remembering the road trip home from CIERA (Ann Arbor) and it was all about “planning” for the 8 hour trip home so we could capture the thinking.

    There are days where I long for a remotely operated vehicle so I can write or work while on the road (= lost hours) even though I do get some thinking (pre-planning) done!

    Love, Love, Love, the pattern!

  8. You ARE a writer! Good for you! I like the repetitious structure! It reinforces your message.There is nothing like having the encouragement and support of your family, friends and colleagues. You go girl!

  9. I love the way you structured this piece. I read it a couple of times, with and without the repeating lines. Those lines are kind of like a drum beat, a steady pulse that gives this piece a rhythm and drives home your point: You ARE a writer! I I also like the duality of your ending- how you tied together your family dream of owning a lake house and your personal dream of being a writer.

  10. Oh my goodness a lake house!!! I would love that, the still water except for the ripples off the canoes and the boats. The picnics, the sunshine, the writing fodder. I can’t wait to see a pic of the one you choose. Your picture was funny as you are in the drivers seat her in Aus. 🙂 Hope you had the best day.

  11. I love the repetition of “You see, I’m a writer now.” I love the rhythm that creates. Also, the fact that you are working on your dream while driving in search of another dream…such beauty in that! Yes, you are a writer! I am one of your loyal readers! 🙂

  12. The addictive force that takes over your life when you embrace a writing kind of life is a kind of sweet surrender. You have documented your sweet surrender so definitively in this post. Your words are made all the more powerful by your most effective use of repetition. This has mentor text qualities. Words to embolden those who are wavering in their intent. Great post Dana!

  13. I see your passion every day and hear it in your words here. I can’t wait to watch you continue on your path. I’ll be waiting in line with that first edition for your autograph.

  14. I love the repeated line throughout this slice — it’s like an affirmation to yourself (and to us) of how being a writer truly becomes a part of you. The picture at the end was fun too! Glad you are a writer now! 🙂

  15. Really loved this– as many have said, the repetition of the line throughout really brings this piece together and indicates quite strongly that you ARE a writer now.

    I have a love-hate relationship with writing. I enjoy it, and sometimes feel a real need to write. Since beginning my blog earlier this year, I have been surprised to find out how much I love it. The reading I do, however, always amazes me, and makes me feel that– while I may be able to write informational, argument, or opinion types of pieces, I may never really be good at the thing I’d want to write– a novel. I just don’t know that I have the creativity to carry something like that off.

    Congrats on your writing. It’s an amazing feeling to be able to write something you feel truly represents you, makes you happy and proud, and is received favorably! 🙂

  16. You are definitely a writer, and I too have become on of your loyal readers…..Ahhh…..the idea of writing in a lake house, what a beautiful picture you have painted in my mind…..

  17. You are a beautiful writer. Pull me in with a story and teach me a lesson. Today: dreaming big! Going for those dreams. I hope you had some luck with your lake house looking … Did you look for the “writing spot” in each home? What a gift your writing is for us all.

Leave a Reply

