Daddy Does It

My husband works much longer hours than I do, which means most of the daily responsibility of caring for the girls belongs to me.  I wake them up.  I get them dressed.  I feed them breakfast.  I drop them off at daycare.  I pick them up again.  I play with them.  I feed them dinner.  You get the point.  I’m not complaining at all.  I’m simply the one at home while he is hard at work.

Sometimes, though, the responsibility falls on him.  Like the other evening, while I was attending a seminar.

He picked the girls up from daycare.  I worried he wouldn’t get there soon enough and he would leave them there too long and they would be wondering when someone was coming for them.

He fed them dinner.  I worried he would take them to eat and they wouldn’t eat a healthy dinner and they would eat chicken nuggets and french fries with no fruit or vegetables.

He took them to their first day of the Happy Books Happy Cooks class at the library.  I worried they wouldn’t arrive on time and Maddie would feel nervous and the class would run too late for a school night.

It’s not that I don’t find him capable.  He is a wonderful daddy.  I just worried he wouldn’t do it like me…you know, he wouldn’t do it right.

The next morning, the responsibilities were mine once again.  I crept into Maddie’s bedroom to rouse her awake, and I was surprised when her first sleepy words were, “Where is Daddy?”

“Well, he’s at work, honey,” I answered.

“I miss him,” she whispered.

Smiling, I thought: He did it right.  

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge.  Join at Two Writing Teachers.

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge. Join at Two Writing Teachers.

20 thoughts on “Daddy Does It

  1. What a fantastic post! I love how you shared your worries that he wouldn’t do it right and especially love the ending! My life is very similar to this, and I often catch myself worrying that daddy won’t “do it right”, too.

  2. Ahh. I love this. I love your writing structure, and the repetition of your long sentences that follow short ones. And I love your ending. What a perfectly written slice of life!!

  3. These words are straight from my head … I worry the same worries. That it won’t be done my way, ha ha, the right way. 🙂 I get it so. But Daddies do come through (and surprise us). I’ve relaxed a bit over time too. Thanks for sharing this slice of your life. So precious and ending says it all.

  4. Love this. No two people do the same thing the same way. There’s always my way and the wrong way. Deep inside we know things will be fine. Still, we can’t help but wonder.

  5. Awww… so sweet. I can totally relate–I’m too much of a perfectionist! You should watch the episode of the show Blackish where Dre (the dad) takes over mom duties, and Rainbow (the mom) can’t let the little things slide. It’s pretty funny : )

  6. Let’s hear it for Daddy!!! You and I both know about single parent homes and how much harder it is for one parent to act as two. Thank goodness your family has the support from both you and your husband for your girls.

Leave a Reply

