SOLSC Day 4: They’ll Wake Up Soon

I know they’ll wake up soon.  The house is silent, except for the ticking clock.  My coffee sits on the table, slowly losing its heat.  I haven’t yet opened the shades to welcome in the morning light.  I’m soaking up the solitude.  But they’ll wake up soon.

They’ll wake up soon, and I will hear their feet scurry across the bedroom floors above.  Whoever wakes up first will run into the adjoining bedroom to wake up her sister.  As if they can’t begin the day without one another.

They’ll wake up soon, and they will come down the stairs, hand in hand.  They just go together like peanut butter and jelly, and they always come down the stairs as one.

They’ll wake up soon, and my first sight of them will bring a smile to my face.  I’ll notice their bedhead and their morning eyes, still adjusting from a good night’s sleep.  They will carry their beloved stuffed animals, Clifford’s red fur beginning to fade from too many cuddles.

They’ll wake up soon, and they’ll come over for a hug.  I’ll wrap my arms around the bundle of pajamas and bedhead and stuffed animals.  Even after all this time, I’ll close my eyes and inhale their scent, just like I did when they were babies.

They’ll wake up soon, and I will have to close my computer.  The coffee will be cooled, and the shades will be opened.  No longer a writer, I’ll be their mom.  Maddie and Katie’s mom.  For that, I’ll be forever grateful.

They’ll wake up soon, and we will start our day.  There will be playing and laughter and arguing and I’m sorries.  The day will hurry scurry by in a blur and before we know it, it will be over.

I won’t forget, though.  I won’t forget how they came downstairs, hand in hand.  I’ll tuck the image and the gratitude inside my heart where I keep a million other pieces of our life.

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge.  Join at Two Writing Teachers.

8th Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge. Join at Two Writing Teachers.

19 thoughts on “SOLSC Day 4: They’ll Wake Up Soon

  1. They’ll wake up soon, and I will have to close my computer. The coffee will be cooled, and the shades will be opened. No longer a writer, I’ll be their mom. Maddie and Katie’s mom. For that, I’ll be forever grateful.

    Lovely Dana… you transition to mom with Joy and memories. You will be back to Dana the writer with inspiration. Have a great day!

  2. What a beautiful piece of writing–So sweet, so loving, so ephemeral. Your repetition is very effective and there’s nothing more endearing than sleep-tousled children at charity with the world and each other. As the mother of three children, on the brink of empty nest, I urge you to inhale deeply and hold these moments close, for as you say, they will “scurry by in a blur and before we know it, it will be over.”

  3. You are wise to tuck away those images and memories. Now that mine has grown and left to see the world, I can revisit those images and memories with my morning coffee.

  4. Beautiful and touching. I loved the repetition of “they will wake up soon” and the images you painted in my head of your girls and how they come down the stairs as one! Lovely!
    -Dana (also a coach!)

  5. I love the line about how your daughters came down the stairs hand in hand. As the mother of two girls, the acts of true sisterly love are the ones I cherish most. This is a beautifully written piece and one I hope you will share with the girls.

  6. Oh, that was just beautiful to read! I loved visualizing it and I loved the repetition throughout. It was a wonderful piece that I am sure you will treasure all the more when they are in high school! 🙂

  7. I love it all Dana, but especially “’ll wrap my arms around the bundle of pajamas and bedhead and stuffed animals”. I am lucky to have a taste when my grand-girls come to stay, & when my grandson was little (now 13). Thanks for reminding of this sweet memory.

  8. Dana, I love this slice- the repetition, everything. I smiled as I read this, thinking of my own children. It goes by so fast! Slicing is a great way to hold on to those memories.

Leave a Reply

