Know It All

Three years ago, I lay in the hospital bed, waiting for the arrival of our second born.  I was not nearly as nervous as the first time.  After all, I knew everything already.

Boy, was I wrong.

I didn’t know later that day I would be holding a precious little girl.  (I thought for sure this one was a boy.)

I didn’t know we would name her Katherine, Kate for short, and she would soon become my Katiebug.

I didn’t know she would grow to love monkeys and her Daddy and the color purple.

I didn’t know she would be the most perfect mix of playful and mischievous and sweet.

I didn’t know her and Maddie would develop the sweetest relationship I have ever witnessed.

I didn’t know sometimes I would catch a glimpse of her – a certain expression, a certain mannerism – and she would look just like me.

I didn’t know she would assert her independence at such a young age, doing things how she “yikes to do it.”

I didn’t know I had so much more love in my heart to give.

I didn’t know it would be almost impossible to be angry with her.  Mischievous, yes.  But so, so sweet.

I didn’t know she would make me laugh a hundred times each day and send me to sleep every night with a grateful heart.

I didn’t know she was going to color each of my days beautiful in a way I never imagined.

How could I have known?

Happy, happy birthday, Katiebug.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays!  Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays! Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

17 thoughts on “Know It All

  1. Dana, this is a beautiful birthday tribute for your Katiebug. Someday, she will appreciate how her Mommy has left her a legacy of thoughts. Enjoy your celebration today and always.

  2. Awww, what a sweet post to Katie! Happy birthday!! Another of learning more with Katiebug!

    Love the format of your slice too!

Leave a Reply

