No Deed Unnoticed

On Thanksgiving night, Maddie and Katie played happily with their cousins.  The grown-ups talked and laughed, with our bellies full of turkey and our hearts full of thanks.

Suddenly, the doorbell rang.  Who could be at our door so late in the night on Thanksgiving?  Maddie ran to the door, turned the deadbolt, and opened it cautiously.  A sharp gust of wind blew in, and we all peered out into the silent night.  “No one is there, Mommy,” Maddie said with a wrinkled brow.  As she pushed the heavy door to close it against the wind, her foot landed on something hard.  A book.  Maddie knelt down and picked up the book.  “The Elf on the Shelf book, Mommy!  The Elf on the Shelf!” Maddie squealed.

Maddie, Katie, Luke, and Molly scrambled to open the book.  “We used to have this book!  Remember, last Christmas? We had an elf last year, Mommy!” Maddie yelled.

IMG_0282I settled the children and ceremoniously began to read.  “Around holiday time, the Elf will appear…”

“Is he here?  Is he here?” the kids inquired.  Suddenly, they were off and running.  They darted through the playroom and the dining room and the kitchen, eyes searching for the Elf.

“Elfie!  Elfie!” Katie cried, pointing her tiny finger to the top of the microwave.  There sat our Elf, righteously perched atop the microwave, with a twinkle in her eye.

“Don’t touch her,” I reminded the mob of children.  “The book said she will lose her magic if we touch her.”

“She musta flew in when I opened the door,” Maddie explained wide-eyed.

“She did!  I saw her fly in!” cousin Luke nodded.

And so it begins, another holiday season.  No deed will go unnoticed when there is an elf among us, so the story goes.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays!  Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays! Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

19 thoughts on “No Deed Unnoticed

  1. “There sat our Elf, righteously perched atop the microwave, with a twinkle in her eye.”

    This line sums up the lift of an Elf so neatly. The magic in our kiddos eyes make it all worthwhile.

  2. What a lovely story and one I am sure your girls remember forever. Here’s hoping that elf continues to bring magic into their lives and the lives of their children when the time comes.

  3. There’s so much wonder and magic at this time of the year. Someone tried making a Mensch on the Bench for those of us who celebrate Chanukah. We haven’t invested in one… sounds like a copycat of the Elf if you ask me. I look forward to hearing more of your Elf stories in the weeks to come.

    • Mensch on a Bench?? Now, that’s creative! I don’t blame the person who tried to copycat the Elf. The inventors of the Elf must be millionaires by now! Sometimes, though, you just can’t replace an original. Not even with a Mensch…

  4. Sometimes that elf used to make mischief when he visited our house. Those messes he made were HIGHLY entertaining to young girls. I love the way that you captured the children’s responses!

  5. Now I get the tale of the Elf. Amy just wrote about it also. It has been years since I had little children around the house. What a wonderful tale you wrote! I am sure your children will appreciate the stories when they grow up. Stories mark our lives and provide us with wonderful remembrances. Enjoy the holiday!

  6. God bless you for making the magic happen. I was never very good at this kind of thing. I’m glad there was no elf when mine were young.

  7. Lily was completely creeped out by our Elf on the Shelf last year! One morning, I set up the Elf in a box of cereal, like a picture I saw on Pinterest, and Lily wouldn’t enter the kitchen until I removed it and assured her that the Elf wasn’t watching her. I actually felt really torn about keeping it going after that, but once we started it I felt like we couldn’t stop.The Elf hasn’t shown up at our house this year, and Lily hasn’t asked about it….

    • I traumatized my youngest daughter when I got carried away with the Easter bunny one year. I’d had so much fun with chewed bits of carrots, fallen jingle bells from the reindeer at Christmas, that I sprinkled little sparkly bunnies around the upstair’s bedroom. My oldest daughter was excited, but my little one’s eyes filled with terror. ” You mean he was watching us when we sleeped, Mommy?” Apparently the image of a large white rabbit, with a bad overbite, staring and not speaking, as she slept, was not as fun as I’d imagined. She never, ever liked the Easter bunny after that.

  8. Today in my classroom more than half shared their elf had come over our Thanksgiving holiday. It was so much fun to hear their stories and they are so serious. The elves have arrived here but one of them hopped in a box and was mailed to the big sister in college. He arrived there today safe and sound but I think there will be new adventures for that elf and stories for us to hear.

  9. This reminded me to find our elf. I forgot how awesome he is to them. Like a celeb, our Floyd. Matt and the carpool kids were all talking about their Buddy and Thomas Cobblepots today.

Leave a Reply

