Catching My Words

I have a small cyst in my sinus cavity that is the culprit of some major headaches.  I have an appointment later in the week with an ENT to see about getting the cyst removed, but until then, I am trying to muddle through.  Most days, I am distracted by the perpetual presence of a headache, and I often feel fuzzy… as if I can’t think.  It was one of the moments yesterday when I paused momentarily in the middle of my sentence to unfuzzy my brain.

“So, we will just listen to the teacher for the…ummm,” I said to the girls, rubbing my forehead.

“Instructions!” Maddie chimed in.  “I caught your word, Mommy.”

I smiled at her.  “What, honey?”

“You lost your word, but I caught it for you.  That happened to me before.  I couldn’t think of my word, but my friend Nicole catched it for me.”

These sinus headaches might be a constant nuisance in my life, but at least I have Maddie there… catching my words.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays!  Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays! Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

 

7 thoughts on “Catching My Words

  1. Stinkin cute! I’m glad they found a cause and hope for a quick remedy for you. So lucky of us to have people around us to catch our words. A great sentiment.

  2. I’m especially happy that Maddie is referring to a friend that does the same “catching” for her! Sounds like she’s already quite adept at picking out the right people to have around her. Smart girl.

Leave a Reply

