Mom Guilt Creates a Perfect Day

I suffer from mom-guilt.  I feel guilty that I have to leave my girls at daycare three days a week (even though they love it there.)  I feel guilty that sometimes I leave them at daycare an extra hour after the school day ends so I can catch up on work.  I feel guilty that sometimes I have to tell them, “Not now, Mommy has work to do” when they ask me to play.  I just feel guilty.   I love my job, but I hate being away from my girls.

So, this past Sunday, I let my guilt get the best of me.  I declared it a no-laundry, no-working, no-cleaning day.  I focused on being only a mom for the whole day.  Boy, am I glad I did.

We started off the day at the new park they built by our house.  We played and swung and slid and climbed.  There was another little girl there with her parents, and my Katie made a new friend.  “I yike Mee-mee Mouse, too!” Katie told the girl after spying her Minnie shoes.

As we left the park to drive home, we passed a small lake.  Even though it was close to lunch time, I pulled over for a quick detour.  We peered into the lake for fishies (there were none) and hoped to see some ducks (there were none), but Maddie did spy her “refrection” in the water.

After lunch and a quick visit with a friend, we headed out to park number two.   This park was a-maze-ing.  It is built to look like a giant rocket ship, and there are ladders and slides and climbing walls every which way.  We had so much.  There is a small cement pad with electronic poles surrounding it.  The poles light up red or green, and you have to slap the metal button on the pole when it lights up (think an active Wack-A-Mole game).   We stayed for hours.  Maddie faced her fears and climbed the to the highest point of the play sculpture, with Katie and I cheering her on down below.  “I did it, Mommy!” Maddie squealed.  Katie and I clapped wildly.

As we drove home, we passed this beautiful area with a walking path, miles of green grass, bridges, and waterfalls.  It is a Water Reclamation Station, and although I’m not exactly sure it’s purpose, I know that it is beautiful.  A quick U-turn, and seconds later we were hopping out of the car to explore.  “All the ducks are here, Mommy!” Maddie declared.  “Quack, quack!” joined Katie.

The day ended with a family dinner and a trip to the ice cream shop with Daddy.

It felt so, so good to spend the day just being a mom.  No thoughts of work, no worries about a full hamper or a dusty dresser.  Just me and Maddie and Katie, laughing and playing.  I wish every day could be like that.  Maybe every Sunday should be…

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays!  Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays! Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

 

3 thoughts on “Mom Guilt Creates a Perfect Day

  1. It’s hard not to be two people at once, the mommy you want to be & the teacher you want to be. It sounds like you chose one on Sunday & had a wonderful time. One thing I always thought was important was that my children had experiences with others too, & enjoyed them. That’s what your girls are having at their day care, especially since you say they love it there. I think that’s a good thing!

Leave a Reply

