Plugging In Again

Tomorrow is my first official day of work for the 2014-2015 school year.  While I am excited at the prospect of a brand new school year, I am so sad to say good-bye to this summer.  I think Katie and I are sharing a similar back-to-school sentiment:

DSC_1324

I unplugged in early June and dedicated my summer to hanging out with my daughters.  Since I stopped writing Slice of Life stories for several weeks, I knew I had to find another way to document our summer.  Here is the finished product:

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays!  Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays! Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

11 thoughts on “Plugging In Again

  1. Seems like you tuned in. I hope you can make a video of your fall/winter with your girls even though they won’t feel like the center. Work has a way of taking a chunk out of your day.
    Thanks so much for the exquisite glimpse of your summertime with your daughters.

  2. Man! That’s the stuff memories are made of! I got such a great sense of the fun you and your family had this summer. They will cherish that video when they are older. Loved the music, too, btw. 🙂

  3. So fun to see the results of your unplugged summer! Makes me realize why going back to school is always a tough, but necessary transition for kids and teachers. We always honor our summer memories with writing pieces that “kiss summer goodbye” before “embracing festive fall.”

  4. Oh…my…gosh! I loved every single day of this. My kids are 22 and 18 and it was very hard to watch this and not get choked up. You will never regret being unplugged for the summer. Wonderful job with the video and the project as a whole! I think I would have missed several days in there somewhere! 🙂

  5. […] Last summer, I made the decision to disconnect.  I logged off Facebook and Instagram for the summer and I did not check my email for ten long weeks.  I read only the books I felt like reading and wrote only the things I felt like writing.  The result was one of the happiest summers of my lifetime. […]

Leave a Reply

