Unplugged

On June 4th, I closed my office door and left work for the summer.  I waved good-bye to friends as I got into my car.  My heart skipped a beat as I drove towards the daycare to pick up Maddie and Katie.

I made a conscious decision that day to unplug.  I would not spend my summer with my phone in my hand, distracted by my Facebook newsfeed and the bling of an email notification.  I would give Maddie and Katie the attention they deserve.  I would be fully and completely here with them, enjoying the moments of summer.

I logged out of my Instagram and Facebook accounts.  I deleted the apps from my phone.  I emailed my administrators and colleagues to let them know I would not be available via email for the summer, and I shut off the email notification system on my phone.

I love being unplugged.  I am more productive, more connected, and more present.  I do not lose precious minutes of my day scrolling mindlessly through my Facebook newsfeed.  I don’t rely on Facebook for news of my family of friends.  Instead, I pick up the phone and call.  I am soaking in every moment of this summer.  Maddie and Katie will never be this age again, and I haven’t missed a minute.  I am here, and I am happy.

To that end, this will be my last Slice of Life Story until August.  I will miss reading your stories, and I will miss documenting my own life on this blog.  I am documenting our summer another way, and I can’t wait to share it with all of you when I return.

Enjoy the rest of your summer break!  I hope you can find a small way to unplug, too!

13 thoughts on “Unplugged

  1. Smart mom. Going off the grid. Enjoy your time with your family. Isn’t it interesting how one can be more “connected” without being “connected” as we know it? You’re connected “old school”! I love the line; “I am here and I am happy.” A feeling to always remember. xoxo

  2. I Love this!! I lost internet service on my mobile phone last Friday and still haven’t got it, something about a missed bill! At first I was a bit stressed then a smile took over my lips and I realised I was on my own….no one could get to me, so liberating. Enjoy every second.

  3. Being so purposeful about our “Plug ins” is so important! When I choose to unplug, it always results in something better for our family. Have a wonderful summer!

Leave a Reply

