Flooded

We finally moved into our new house.  The house is big and beautiful and everything we thought it would be.  Almost.

The master bathroom has a beautiful jacuzzi tub with high-powered jets and plenty of space to stretch out and read a book.  Sunday morning I filled the tub with cleaning solution and tested the jets.   Maddie ran to get her Cruise Ship Minnie Mouse figurine, and we watched Minnie swirl around and around the whirlpool tub.  I pulled the plug to empty the freshly cleaned tub and went into the kitchen to cook breakfast.

A short while later, I heard the familiar call of “Mommmmmmy….”

“Just a minute, Maddie,” I called back, flipping the egg on the stove.

“But, Mommy, the water is everywhere!” she hollered back.  My husband and I looked at each other with wide eyes.  We dashed through the house and turned the corner into the master bathroom.

Maddie was right.  The water was everywhere.

The bathroom floor was covered in 2 inches of water.  The water oozed out of the bathroom and onto the bedroom carpet.  Maddie’s socks and ankles were soaked.  Minnie floated lazily across the bathroom floor.  What the…?

My husband opened the shower door.  Woooooosh!  More water spilled out across our toes.  Minnie bobbed up and down across the pool of water where my bathroom floor used to be.

We ran to get rags and the wet/dry vac.  As we frantically cleaned, we heard a loud trickle from somewhere else in the house.  It sounded like waterfall.  We both stopped cleaning and perked our ears.  “The basement!” my husband yelled as he took off running.  The rag he had been holding splashed onto the bathroom floor.

Oh, the basement.  Flooded.  The basement with all of our unpacked boxes.  Flooded.  The basement of our dream house.  Flooded.

As he frantically worked to save our boxes, I stepped into the powder room off the kitchen.  As soon as I opened the door, I felt it.  Squerch.  More. Water.

Turns out our dream house has a broken main line to the sewer.

My sister and brother-in-law drove over within 10 minutes and helped us clean up.  I cried.  The plumbers came on a moment’s notice and identified the problem.  I cried some more.  As I sit typing this in my dry office at work , the plumber’s crew is at my new house digging up my perennials and my newly manicured bushes to fix the broken pipe.

I started referring to our dream house as “the money pit”.  My husband tells me I’m wrong, that it was just bad timing and bad luck.

I still love the house, but I feel a bit betrayed by it.  I don’t trust the house anymore.

It’s big and beautiful and everything we always wanted.  Almost.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays!  Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

Join in Slice of Life Story writing on Tuesdays! Add your link at Two Writing Teachers.

12 thoughts on “Flooded

  1. Oh, I know that feeling. In the fall of 2008, we got 4.5′ (yes, feet) of water in our basement. Now, whenever it rains more than just a drizzle, I get panicked, even though we spent big bucks to put in overhead sewers that prevent backup. Last night was one of those nights. Luckily, the basement stayed dry! Best wishes that yours will too!

  2. How awful for you! I’m so sorry. We take water for granted and forget about the cruel damage it can do! I hope your house redeems itself and one day earns your trust. Good luck with the clean up!

  3. A heartbreaking slice. With time, your house will be filled with new memories and this story will be relegated to the “remember when” story file. I clicked on your slice, hoping that flooded referred to an emotional state (the word I often use when there’s so much to do that I’m paralyzed by inaction), not a physical state. So sorry.

  4. OMG Dana . . . I don’t even know what to say . . . I know I would be feeling like you do right now BUT . . . listen to your husband . . . it will all be okay!

  5. This is awful- the flooding that is. I am so sorry. We once bought a house only to discover a similar issue.. we had buckets all over the front hall floor trying to catch the drips coming through the ceiling- on our first night in the dream house. It did become a distant memory.

    Isn’t it amazing though how when we write about these kinds of moments the writing is so clear and full of passion and real detail… I always admire the rhythm of your writing.

  6. Oh my goodness! I am so sorry! That is just awful…especially after all the work you just went through to move in. I hope you didn’t lose too much. From a writing perspective, I liked how you used your daughter’s Minnie boat to describe the water and its path.

  7. Oh how awful! What could be worse? However, you did get a great slice from this event, but I know you would rather have written how happy you were in your new house discovering fun things to do. I hope you dry out soon.

  8. Oh, sending you big hugs and whispering, “It will all be okay.” But I can’t even imagine Dana. This new house full of so much promise and hope. As your husband said, it was all just poor timing. You will soon be sharing so many new memories — happy memories!

    “Float” above the situation and find one little good in it. Maybe? Or not. 🙂 Hang in there!!!

  9. So sorry that this happened, yet I guess it could have been worse. At least you were home. Now, no new worries about plumbing, it will all be completely checked out by the plumbers! I think you’re clever to have included the funny Minnie floating around. In the midst of trouble, you kept your sense of humor! And now the house so newly yours, begins a history with you!

  10. OH NO! Oh no, that’s horrible! I can’t believe it! Wasn’t flooding something to be left behind at the old house. I feel your terror here and disappointment at the new house. So sorry. Glad you’re finally in there though. 🙂

  11. We come with so many expectations when we move into our dream house and then something like this happens. Hang in there. I hope it will dry out quickly and better times will come to make many good memories in your new home.

Leave a Reply

